Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Scottie Thompson caps banner PBA year with MVP

Scottie Thompson has now cemented his legacy as one of the PBA’s best.

The Barangay Ginebra star was crowned as the Season 46 Most Valuable Player in the Leo Awards, Sunday at the SMART Araneta Coliseum.

The 28-year-old has ushered in a new reign after San Miguel star June Mar Fajardo won the league’s highest individual award in the last six seasons.

He is also the first guard and the first Ginebra player to bag home the coveted plum since Mark Caguioa, the long-time face of the franchise, in 2012.

Thompson bested TNT star Mikey Williams, Philippine Cup BPC Calvin Abueva of Magnolia, and NorthPort main man Robert Bolick for the title.

He won via landslide, garnering a total of 2,836 votes from the stats, the players, the media, and the league. At second was Williams with 1,332, followed by statistical leader Bolick (1,295), and then Abueva (1,066).

The Perpetual product’s coronation was thanks hugely to his impressive campaign in the Governors’ Cup that saw him sweep all awards.

He was named BPC of the season-ending tilt, and was later on adjudged the Finals MVP after steering the Barangay to a successful title defense.

And his performance made the Kings hardly miss the absence of Stanley Pringle, who missed the remainder of the tilt due to a knee injury.

The pride of Davao Del Sur averaged 13.9 points, 9.0 rebounds, 5.4 assists, and 1.3 steals in 38.3 minutes in the 33 games he played last season.

Thompson spearheads the Mythical First Team, which also includes Williams, Abueva, Fajardo, and 2013 MVP Arwind Santos of the Batang Pier.

#ReadMore  Hong Kong Eastern believes Christian Standhardinger will finish ABL season

Williams is the Rookie of the Year, which is no longer a surprise as he towed the Tropang Giga to the Philippine Cup title and bagged Finals MVP honors.

The 40-year-old Santos, on the other hand, leads the All-Defensive Team with TNT’s Kelly Williams, Meralco vet Cliff Hodge, Magnolia guard Jio Jalalon, and many-time Defensive Player of the Year Chris Ross of SMB

Bolick is part of the Mythical Second Team, together with contemporary CJ Perez of San Miguel, Phoenix Super LPG star Matthew Wright, Christian Standhardinger of Ginebra, and Magnolia top big man Ian Sangalang.

Bagging home Most Improved honors is Juami Tiongson of Terrafirma. NLEX guard Kevin Alas, lastly, won the Samboy Lim Sportsmanship Award.

Bagging home Most Improved honors is Juami Tiongson. Kevin Alas, lastly, won the Samboy Lim Sportsmanship Award.PBA-Season-46-Leo-Awards Scottie Thompson caps banner PBA year with MVP Basketball News PBA  - philippine sports news

Written By

Oftentimes on the sidelines. Forever a student of the game. Morayta-bred.

You May Also Like


A striking feature in the second iteration of Scottie Thompson’s signature shoe with World Balance is the woven jacquard knit used in the upper....


Scottie Thompson will miss 2-3 weeks of Ginebra’s PBA Season 48 Commissioner’s Cup campaign due to a swollen left knee. Head coach Tim Cone...


Ginebra gave LA Tenorio the welcome he deserves by way of a 110-99 victory over Terrafirma to continue their winning ways in the PBA...


Jio Jalalon was one of those who made it difficult for Stokley Chaffee, Jr. in Magnolia’s eventual win over NLEX in the PBA Commissioner’s...


Magnolia went on a rampage in the third quarter en route to dealing an adjusting NLEX a 99-72 decimation to stretch its unbeaten run...


The rookies proved themselves worthy as they helped NorthPort get past TNT in overtime, 128-123, to lay their two-game losing skid to rest in...


June Mar Fajardo will be out for a while – again. The San Miguel main man has suffered a metacarpal fracture on his left...


June Mar Fajardo hopes that he suffered nothing serious after hurting his left wrist during San Miguel’s eventual win over Rain or Shine in...