Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


PSA to give posthumous recognition to departed sportsmen

Sportsmen and beloved friends of Philippine sports who passed away last year would definitely be remembered in the coming San Miguel Corporation-Philippine Sportswriters Association (SMC-PSA) Annual Awards Night. 

Athletes, coaches, officials, and supporters of local sports will be honored with a posthumous recognition during the March 27 virtual rite at the TV5 Media Center.

Never in recent memory has there been a long list of sportsmen who passed on to the Great Beyond than in 2020, with the likes of former Ambassador and basketball godfather Eduardo ‘Danding’ Cojuangco, national team coaches Januario ‘Aric’ Del Rosario and Nic Jorge, Olympians Alfonso ‘Boy’ Marquez and Orlando ‘Orly’ Bauzon, grand matriarch of Philippine boxing Laura Elorde, and our very own Teddyvic Melendres, former sports and senior news desk editor of the Philippine Daily Inquirer and PSA president from ‪2009-2011‬, among the prominent ones who departed.

A moment of silence and a special video presentation will be shown in their memory during the early part of the program presented by San Miguel Corporation (SMC) and backed by the PSC (Philippine Sports Commission) and Cignal TV.

The first-ever virtual PSA Awards Night is going to be aired on March 28 over One Sports+ from 7 p.m. to 8:30 p.m., with 1Pacman Partylist, Chooks-to-Go, and Rain or Shine as major backers.

Others who would be honored posthumously are Inaki Vicente, Arianne Caoili, Salvador ‘Buddy’ Andrada, Maui Huelar, Jomar Ang, Domingo ‘Coach Waray’ Villanueva, Gene Poliarco, Alexander Lim, Bea Luna, Junel Mendiola, Ollie Ongtawco, Yana Bautista, Oscar ‘Dodong’ Bascon, Albert Almendralejo, Ronald Dulay, Randy Villanueva, Rudy Del Rosario, Vangie De Jesus, Sudan Daniel, Rico Navarro, and Josie Veguillas.

#ReadMore  Rep. Romero pushes Team PH Tokyo gold bonus to P33-M

At the top of the PSA honor roll is pro golfer Yuka Saso, who will be receiving the prestigious Athlete of the Year Award solely given by the country’s oldest media organization headed by Tito S. Talao, sports editor of the Manila Bulletin.

Other awards to be handed out are the President’s Award (POC President Abraham ‘Bambol’ Tolentino), Executive of the Year (PBA Commissioner Willie Marcial), National Sports Association (NSA) of the Year (Association of Boxing Alliances in the Philippines), and Major Awardees (Alex Eala, Johnriel Casimero, and Pedro Taduran).

Three sports pillars will be honored with a Lifetime Achievement Awards (former Gintong Alay Project Director Jose A. Romasanta, ex-PBA Commissioner Renauld ‘Sonny’ Barrios, and Cojuangco), boxing great Manny Pacquiao is the recipient of the ‘Manok ng Bayan’ award, while citations and a special recognition will be given to 20 personalities and entities as well as athletes who served as frontliners during the current COVID-19 pandemic.

Hosts of the event are Gretchen Ho and Carlo Pamintuan.

Written By

You May Also Like

3x3 Basketball

Lester Del Rosario pointed his finger above moments after Pioneer finally achieved glory in the PBA 3×3 by ruling the Second Conference, Wednesday. “Para...

Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas 3x3

Manny Pacquiao may not have stepped into a boxing ring in 2020, but the fight he entered was the toughest one yet. The fighting...


Philippine Olympic Committee President Bambol Tolentino felt honored to receive the 2021 Philippine Sportswriters Association President’s Award, Saturday evening. For him, it’s a huge...


Pro golfer Yuka Saso vowed to provide inspiration to Philippine sports in the light of the mounting challenges it faces brought about by the...


Athletes and sports personalities who inspired and gave Philippine sports something to cheer about in mankind’s darkest hour will be recognized accordingly in the...


The country’s top government sports official serves as the special guest of honor in the San Miguel Corporation-Philippine Sportswriters Association (SMC-PSA) Awards Night on...


Filipino athletes still did their share even with local sports at a standstill following the outbreak of COVID-19 cases last year.  Sportsmen who double...


The man who bravely led Philippine sports during its darkest hour is among those to be honored by the Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) when...