Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


PFL: Gayoso produces hat-trick as Kaya downs Maharlika for fourth straight win

Jarvey Gayoso caught fire as Kaya-Iloilo enjoyed a 4-1 win over Maharlika Manila in the 2022-2023 Philippines Football League, Saturday afternoon, at the Rizal Memorial Stadium in Manila.

The two-time UAAP champion tapped the ball home for the opener in the 13th minute. He then performed a fine finish in the 78th minute and headed the ball in the 80th minute of the match to seal the milestone.

In between Gayoso’s heroics, Carlyle Mitchell converted a header in the 41st minute off a Jhan-Jhan Melliza assist.

OJ Clarino then scored in the 90+4 minute to give Maharlika Manila a consolation for their efforts.

The result means coach Yu Hoshide’s men increase their points tally to 12 points in first place behind four consecutive victories. In contrast, Maharlika Manila is yet to tally a point after as many games.

Kaya looks to maintain its hold on first place when it takes on Stallion Laguna next Saturday at Rizal Memorial at 7:00 PM.

On the other hand, Maharlika Manila goes up against Mendiola 1991 on Sunday at the Imus City Grandstand in Cavite. Kickoff time is at 7:00 PM.

#ReadMore  Jerom Lastimosa commits to final year with Adamson
Written By

Lorenzo's a frustrated author who knows a thing or two about Football and Basketball. Went all green from Ortigas to Taft. Supports Liverpool FC, FC Bayern Munich and the Alaska Aces

You May Also Like


Philippine men’s national team striker Jarvey Gayoso has finally earned his move abroad. Cambodian powerhouse Phnom Penh Crown FC revealed that it has signed...


Donning a blue kit at the Rizal Memorial Stadium while playing in the final third of the pitch may have been familiar for Jarvey...


Kaya-Iloilo closed its 2023-2024 AFC Champions League campaign with a 1-3 loss to South Korean side Incheon United Wednesday at the Rizal Memorial Stadium...


Quincy Kammeraad exorcised some demons by winning the 2023 Copa Paulino Alcantara final with Kaya-Iloilo last Saturday at the Rizal Memorial Stadium. Kammeraad, Kaya’s...


The best teams always find a way through. Justin Baas scored the winning penalty as Kaya-Iloilo won the 2023 Copa Paulino Alcantara by outlasting...


Cam Rodriguez believes that the recently concluded 2023 PFF Women’s League demonstrates tangible progress for women’s football in the Philippines. Rodriguez, a member of...


Hali Long has added another achievement to her illustrious career. Long, who has made 80 international appearances with the Philippine Women’s National Football Team,...


In a thrilling showdown last Saturday, Kaya-Iloilo secured its inaugural PFF Women’s League sponsored by Coca-Cola Philippines title with a narrow 1-0 victory over...