Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


PBA Press Corps honor all 12 teams for sacrifice amid pandemic

All 12 member teams received the 2020 President’s Award for their all-out support of the league’s successful staging amidst the COVID-19 pandemic in the PBA Press Corps Awards Night Sunday at the TV5 Media Center. 

These are challenging times indeed, but the teams — Ginebra, TNT, Meralco, Phoenix, San Miguel, Alaska, Magnolia, Rain or Shine, NLEX, Blackwater, NorthPort, and Terrafirma — remain committed to their people.

So for their financial sacrifices and deep love for the game, the group covering the PBA beat honored all teams with the prestigious honor.

Accepting the award on behalf of all 12 teams were Gin Kings head coach Tim Cone, Beermen chief mentor Leo Austria, and PBA chairman Ricky Vargas. The award was presented by PBAPC President Gerry Ramos of

The rest of the league was jovial when it raised the curtains of its 45th season last March 8, 2020. But the novel coronavirus pandemic then struck, leading to the suspension of all activities for eight months.

Despite that long break, the teams did not stop paying their players, coaches, and staff to make sure that they remained well taken care of amidst the crisis.

In fact, all 12 teams even agreed to extend the contract of the players with expiring deals until the end of 2020.

So the league continued to stay afloat despite the trying times, and each and every member of the huge PBA family received help, Eventually, their efforts led to the resumption of the 45th season in a bubble in Clark.

#ReadMore  At age 72, Robert Jaworski throws name if 'Return of the Rivals' gets a sequel

It was not without a hitch, but the league’s resiliency showed up, and the unprecedented tournament ended successfully.

Written By

Oftentimes on the sidelines. Forever a student of the game. Morayta-bred.

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


BACARRA, ILOCOS NORTE — After suffering three quick losses in its Premier Volleyball League Open Conference, Black Mamba-Army is now fighting for pride and...


Mikey Williams rated himself a seven on a scale of one to 10 when asked to assess how much he has grasped TNT’s scheme...


PAGADIAN, ZAMBOANGA DEL SUR — Kapatagan finished the 2021 Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas VisMin Super Cup elimination round at eighth seed — just enough to make...


PAGADIAN, ZAMBOANGA DEL SUR — Fifth-ranked Zamboanga City marched to the semifinals of the 2021 Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas VisMin Super Cup, Thursday evening.  Fran Yu...


BACARRA, ILOCOS NORTE — Black-Mamba Army handed PLDT its sixth straight loss, 20-25, 25-17, 25-20, 25-20, in the Premier Volleyball League Open Conference at...


BACARRA, ILOCOS NORTE — Nicole Tiamzon was lost for words after Perlas broke through the Premier Volleyball League Open Conference win column on Thursday...


BACARRA, ILOCOS NORTE — Perlas finally got their breakthrough win in the Premier Volleyball League Open Conference after turning back Cignal, 20-25, 25-20, 25-22,...


There was a new face on Meralco’s bench when it took on Phoenix Super LPG, Wednesday evening at the Ynares Sports Center in Pasig...