Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


NU Lady Bullpups complete UAAP Girls’ Volleyball sweep

Last year, National University-Nazareth School’s bid for five-peat was denied by De La Salle-Zobel. This time around, the Lady Bullpups made sure no one could stop them. 

NU completed its season sweep of the UAAP Girls’ Volleyball Tournament with a masterful three-set Game Two win over Adamson University, 25-10, 25-17, 25-15, at the Filoil Flying V Centre in San Juan Sunday.

This is the Lady Bullpups’ fifth crown in six years.

“The girls did well, ginusto nila ito. This championship is all them. They played with energy, passion and everything they’ve got,” said NU coach Regine Diego.

Finals MVP Evangeline Alinsug top-billed for the Lady Bullpups with 16 points on 12 spikes and two blocks. Season MVP Mhicaela Belen dropped 13 markers while Alyssa Solomon uncorked 11 points.

Up by just a single point in the third set, 9-8, NU unleashed a 16-7 finishing kick, capped by Alinsug’s off-the-block kill for the championship.

The Lady Bullpups closed the first frame on a 13-2 blast, highlighted by five service aces from Best Setter Camilla Lamina to take the upper hand.

NU did not allow a single Baby Lady Falcon to score in double figures.

Adamson’s leading scorer was Kate Santiago with just four points.

#ReadMore  Cignal outlasts Champion to go up 1-0
Written By

You May Also Like


Due to National University not allowing its players to compete in the Premier Volleyball League Invitational Conference, the Philippine Women’s National Volleyball Team has...

2022 AVC Cup for Women

The Philippine National Volleyball Federation (PNVF) on Saturday announced the 14-member team that will see action in the Asian Volleyball Confederation (AVC) Cup for...


After five years, Jerry Yee will make his return to the UAAP. Yee has been tapped by Adamson University to become the school’s new...

2022 AVC Cup for Women

The brightest stars of the University Athletic Association of the Philippines have received call-ups for flag and country for the upcoming 2022 AVC Cup...

2022 AVC Cup for Women

Philippine National Volleyball Federation National Team commission head Tony Boy Liao revealed on Tuesday that the federation has invited 22 collegiate players to form...

2022 VNL Season

Mhicaela Belen is a history maker, becoming the first-ever rookie MVP in UAAP women’s volleyball history. She has also led National University to its...


It was right before Game Two of the UAAP 84 Women’s Volleyball Finals. It was the title-clincher. The win would complete a clean sweep...


Mhicaela Belen was hailed as the UAAP Season 84 women’s volleyball tournament Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player – making her the...