Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Montalbo, Potts lead cast of student-athletes to be feted for excellence

De La Salle University Green Archer Kib Montalbo and San Beda College Red Lion Davon Potts head the list of players who will be cited for their excellence during the UAAP and NCAA seasons in the Collegiate Basketball Awards set on Thursday, January 26, at the Montgomery Place Social Hall in E. Rodriguez Ave., Quezon City.

Montalbo and Potts are set to receive the Pivotal Player awards in the event backed by Smart, Accel, Mighty Sports, MJM Productions, and Chooks to Go, for playing significant roles during the title run of their respective leagues.

The defensive-minded Montalbo was instrumental in helping La Salle win the UAAP crown by sweeping archrival Ateneo in the finals, while Potts was one of the key figures in San Beda’s NCAA title victory over Arellano University.

Also to be recognized are San Beda’s Robert Bolick and Ateneo’s Isaac Go with the Impact Player awards for emerging as two of the top players of the recent collegiate basketball season.

Other awardees are University of the Philippines’ Paul Desiderio as the Chooks to Go Breakout Player, teammate Jett Manuel and Far Eastern University’s Raymar Jose as the Super Senior awardees, and Adamson’s Papi Sarr as Mr. Efficiency.

Desiderio earned a UAAP Mythical Five selection after UP flirted with making the Final Four for the first time since 1997, while Manuel and Jose impressed everyone during their final season in the UAAP.

Sarr, on the other hand, finished second in the UAAP Most Valuable Player race through his consistent play that had given Adamson their first Final Four appearance since 2011.

#ReadMore  Vera's first title defense set for ONE: Age of Domination

Leading the list of awardees are Coach of the Year winners Aldin Ayo and Jamike Jarin and Mighty Sports Collegiate Mythical Five members Jeron Teng, Ben Mbala, Jio Jalalon, Allwell Oraeme, and Javee Mocon.

Also to be handed out by the group of journalists covering the collegiate beat is the Smart Player of the Year.

Written By

You May Also Like


De La Salle University Season 84 Recap The Green Archers were eliminated in the Final Four following a miraculous comeback from the Fighting Maroons....


Robert Bolick put up a Herculean effort as he carried NorthPort past Meralco in overtime, 101-95, to register their second win in the 2022...


Amidst a turbulent campaign, San Beda University finally has the big win its been craving for as it took down rivals Colegio San Juan...


San Beda University bucked a slow start, taking advantage of an undermanned Colegio de San Juan de Letran beating them, 76-68, in the rivalry...


Far Eastern University Season 84 Recap For the eighth straight season, the Tamaraws made the Final Four of the UAAP in Season 84, where...


The UAAP Season 85 press conference just happened yesterday, and each team fielded questions about their upcoming campaigns. Not surprisingly, the soundbites have revolved...


All eyes are on the University of the Philippines as it defends a championship for the first time in over three decades. Many of...


Barely five months since winning their first UAAP men’s basketball tournament championship in 36 years, University of the Philippines will plunge into action this...