Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Mary Rose Obra sparks UP Lady Maroons blitz of FEU

The last time the University of the Philippines Lady Maroons played, they allowed themselves to succumb to the UST Lady Booters’ pressure after they broke the deadlock.

There was no such meltdown this time around, as the Lady Maroons earned a 2-0 victory against the erstwhile-undefeated Far Eastern University Lady Tamaraws, Saturday afternoon, at the Circulo Verde field in Quezon City.

“I thought the girls did really well execution-wise, effort-wise, and most especially the aggressiveness because we knew FEU will really come out fighting. They’re a very aggressive team, a very tough team and they’re coming off a big win against UST so they’re clearly confident as well. All credit goes to the girls for bringing the game to FEU,” commented UP mentor Anto Gonzales after his side’s maiden victory in the UAAP Season 81 Women’s Football Tournament.

After a goalless first half, Mary Rose Obra and Yanzie Yalong provided the goods for the Diliman-based school. Obra cut inside from the right flank and unleashed a powerful shot in the 73rd minute. Yalong’s cross was then erroneously handled by FEU goalkeeper Kim Pariña three minutes later.

“I thought the main lesson from the (UST) game was that we needed support coming the bench. Those naman who are forming the core, they have to play 90 minutes because we’re not a very deep team. The challenge is the game-changers have to step up and those in the starting lineup have to take more responsibility,” added Gonzales.

State U (3 points) next play against the De La Salle University on March 16, 2019, at 1:00 PM. Meanwhile, FEU (6 points) also play DLSU, but on March 20, 2019, 3:00 PM. Circulo Verde will host both games.

UP XI: Adlawan (GK), Alleje ©, Corvera, Dabalos, Dungca, Fagsao, Montilla, Obra, Ruiz, Ube, Yalong.

#ReadMore  Ateneo Lady Eagles clobber FEU for 9th straight win, Final Four slot

FEU XI: Acibar, Belluga, Caw-It, Fornea, Lam, Lecera, Onrubia, Pachejo ©, Pariña (GK), Sudaria, Velasco.

Written By

Lorenzo's a frustrated author who knows a thing or two about Football and Basketball. Went all green from Ortigas to Taft. Supports Liverpool FC, FC Bayern Munich and the Alaska Aces

You May Also Like


The Philippine Under-18 Women’s National Football Team closed its 2022 AFF U18 Women’s Championship campaign with a 2-1 loss to Malaysia, Friday evening, at...


The Philippine Under-18 Women’s National Football Team bowed out of contention from the knockout round of the 2022 AFF U-18 Women’s Championship after a...


The Philippine Under-18 Women’s National Football Team commenced its 2022 AFF U-18 Women’s Championship in dismal fashion after succumbing 4-0 to Australia’s Junior Matildas,...


Straight from helping the country win its first AFF crown, Isabella Flanigan and Chantelle Maniti are in line for another tour of duty. The...


Ateneo libero Dani Ravena played a huge role when the Lady Eagles evened up the series after a four-set victory in Game Two of...


Anton Asistio feels honored to have had Jai Reyes as a teammate in Bataan during the early goings of the 2019-20 Chooks-to-Go Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball...


Super seniors who could not play during the University Athletic Association of the Philippines’ 82nd season will have another shot at glory.  The league’s...

3x3 Basketball

No one will be left behind.  The 1,214 student-athletes unable to play their events during UAAP Season 82 will receive honorary medals by the...