Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Kaya-Iloilo ends 27-year wait, takes PFL crown

Kaya-Iloilo has finally won its first league title in its 27-year existence.

The LBC-backed club secured the 2022–2023 Philippines Football League crown by virtue of Dynamic Herb Cebu’s 0-0 stalemate against Stallion Laguna on Wednesday at the Dynamic Herb Sports Complex in Talisay, Cebu.

Yu Hoshide’s men benefited from goalkeeper Patrick Deyto’s stellar performance as the De La Salle University alumnus made save after save to deny the home side, which was playing its final match of the season.

Cebu’s draw with Stallion meant that they could no longer catch up with Kaya in the league standings. Kaya sealed the league title with one game to spare, finishing with 52 points from 17 wins, one draw, and just three defeats.

On the other hand, Cebu finished their campaign in second place with 51 points, thanks to 15 wins, six draws, and one loss. Stallion will also finish in third place with two matches to spare, earning 32 points from 10 wins, two draws, and eight losses.

This league title has been a long time coming for Kaya. The club has experienced runner-up finishes to Philippine Air Force and Global in the 2010 and 2012 seasons of the defunct United Football League, as well as to Ceres-Negros and United City from 2018 to 2020 in the PFL.

Before finally achieving success this year, Kaya won the Copa Paulino Alcantara in 2018 and 2021, and the UFL Cup in 2015. The club also participated in the 2016, 2019, 2020, and 2022 editions of the AFC Cup, as well as the group stage of the AFC Champions League in 2021 and the preliminary round in 2022.

#ReadMore  Cam Rodriguez envisions bright future for women's football after PFFWL victory

As PFL champions, Kaya was also awarded a ticket to the group stage of the 2023–2024 AFC Champions League.

Written By

Lorenzo's a frustrated author who knows a thing or two about Football and Basketball. Went all green from Ortigas to Taft. Supports Liverpool FC, FC Bayern Munich and the Alaska Aces

You May Also Like


Kaya-Iloilo closed its 2023-2024 AFC Champions League campaign with a 1-3 loss to South Korean side Incheon United Wednesday at the Rizal Memorial Stadium...


Quincy Kammeraad exorcised some demons by winning the 2023 Copa Paulino Alcantara final with Kaya-Iloilo last Saturday at the Rizal Memorial Stadium. Kammeraad, Kaya’s...


The best teams always find a way through. Justin Baas scored the winning penalty as Kaya-Iloilo won the 2023 Copa Paulino Alcantara by outlasting...


Cam Rodriguez believes that the recently concluded 2023 PFF Women’s League demonstrates tangible progress for women’s football in the Philippines. Rodriguez, a member of...


Hali Long has added another achievement to her illustrious career. Long, who has made 80 international appearances with the Philippine Women’s National Football Team,...


In a thrilling showdown last Saturday, Kaya-Iloilo secured its inaugural PFF Women’s League sponsored by Coca-Cola Philippines title with a narrow 1-0 victory over...


Kaya-Iloilo fought valiantly, but it just wasn’t meant to be. In a battle between two champion teams, Kaya lost 1-2 against the reigning J1...


Kaya-Iloilo suffered its third loss in the 2023-24 AFC Champions League, a 3-0 defeat at the hands of the Japanese side Yokohama F. Marinos...