Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


George Oconer rules Ronda Pilipinas 10th anniversary race

VIGAN — George Oconer was crowned as the LBC Ronda Pilipinas king, while his squad Standard-Insurance was the team champion as the 10th anniversary race drew to a close in front of the provincial capitol here on Wednesday.

Oconer, 28, contented himself with staying at the back end of the peloton that checked in first in the Stage 10 criterium — which was ruled by teammate Jan Paul Morales in 51 minutes and 20 seconds — to claim his very first title.

He raised his two arms in victory, rode his ceremonial victory lap, and received wild applause from the appreciative crowd at the finish. He also met with hugs and congratulatory messages from Ronda chairman Moe Chulani and Standard Insurance Group chairman Ernesto “Judes” Echauz.

Oconer then thanked God; Echauz, his teammates, and coaches who cradled him almost all race long; the organizers; and his family including father Norberto, a two-time Olympian.

After 10 stages and 11 days covering a total of 14 provinces starting in Sorsogon, Oconer emerged the champion with an aggregate time of 32:42:12 over 68 survivors out of the 88 originally entered.

It was a performance to remember for Oconer, since he did just pocket the top purse worth P1 million and take home the beautifully crafted trophy. He also received the honor of being the best Filipino cyclist today.

“My first race was in Ronda in 2011. That is why finally winning it here is a special moment for me,” said Oconer.

Oconer’s triumph underscored Standard’s Ronda domination as it also saw five more of its riders — Ronald Oranza, Ronald Lomotos, John Mark Camingao, Junrey Navarra, and El Joshua Carino — in the top 10 behind Oconer, while running away with the team crown.

#ReadMore  Mark Sangiao optimistic as Team Lakay kicks off New Year

Rounding up the top 10 in the individual race were Go for Gold’s Jonel Carcueva, Daniel Ven Carino, and Ismael Grospe, Jr.; and Marvin Tapic of Bicycology-Army.

Besides that that, Standard also registered five stage wins, with three coming from Morales, a two-time winner here. Morales also secured the CCN Sprint plum in this race presented by LBC and backed by the Manny V. Pangilinan Sports Foundation.

Navarra meanwhile emerged the Versa King of the Mountain in this event supported by Palayan, Nueva Ecija, Versa, 8A Performance, Print2Go, Petron, Green Planet, Bike Xtreme, Standard Insurance, Spyder, CCN, Lightwater, Prolite, Guerciotti, Black Mamba, Boy Kanin, Vitamin Boost, NLEX-SCTEX, Maynilad, 3Q Sports Event Management Inc., LBC Foundation and PhilCycling.

It will also be the last race for Santy Barnachea, who won the inaugural edition in 2011 and 2015.

“Yes, I’m retiring. I’m now focusing my time to family and maybe coaching,” said the 43-year-old Barnachea, who joined the final two years of the fabled Marlboro Tour in 1997 and 1998, before winning the Fedex Tour of Calabarzon in 2002 and the Padyak Pinoy in 2006.

Written By

You May Also Like


Finn McDaniel fired another hat-trick as Stallion Laguna’s run at the top of the PFL standings continued with a 6-0 barrage against the Philippine...


Esteve Hora Jr. sprinted in the last few hundred meters with all his might to win the men’s elite race of the Go For...


Seeking the next generation of cycling heroes, the Go For Gold Criterium Race Series 1 kicks off on March 3 at the Iconic Sacobia...


For the first time in MTB history, a Filipino rider has taken a prominent spot in the UCI world rankings. This achievement follows rising...


Jermyn Prado snatched two gold medals, Jonel Carcueva kept his throne, and Kim Bonilla was hailed as a rising star in the recent PhilCycling...


John Alcala put up a strong finishing kick to capture the men’s overall crown in decisive fashion but Singapore’s Ling Er Choo proved a...


Ronald Lomotos of Navy Standard Insurance used the 10th and final stage as a victory ride on Sunday to crown himself the champion of...


Ronald Lomotos of Navy Standard Insurance delivered the race of his life as he topped the tough Stage Nine on Saturday to snatch the...