Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Diliman Blue Dragons make history, retain PG Flex-UCBL crown

Diliman College completed its date with history by downing Olivarez College, 75-68, to keep its PG Flex Linoleum-Universities and Colleges Basketball League title Thursday at the Olivarez Gym in Parañaque City.

Robbi Darang, Billshan Digno, and Abdoulaye Niang sparked Diliman’s decisive third quarter breakaway, as the Blue Dragons became the first back-to-back champions of the four-year-old tournament.

Sadly, the Olivarez Sea Lions were again frustrated for the third time. They also lost to the Blue Dragons last season.

Darang put on another solid all-around show with 17 points and five assists to emerge as the Finals MVP.

Digno contributed 14 points highlighted by four triples. Meanwhile, Niang imposed his will inside on the way to finishing with 16 points along with six boards.

Johnnel Bauzon likewise produced significant numbers with 9 points and 11 boards, as Diliman College wrapped up the series, 2-1.

The Blue Dragons first dropped the opener of their best-of-three series, 64-62. They then forced the rubber match with an 82-72 triumph last Monday.

As expected, both teams fought almost on even terms in the first two quarters before the Blue Dragons hit their targets in the third to pull away for good.

A big disappoint for Olivarez was MVP Jayboy Solis, who went scoreless in 12 minutes of action.

With Solis struggling, Redel Fabro took charge and finished with 22 points.

#ReadMore  6-man CEU Scorpions still rout NCBA in PG Flex-UCBL
Written By

You May Also Like


Rhenze Abando flaunted his entire arsenal in his NCAA Final Four debut while Fran Yu showed that he is still a big-time player. The...


The magical run of University of Perpetual Help System DALTA continues. Despite not having leading scorer Kim Aurin, the Altas played inspired basketball, racking...


University of Perpetual Help System DALTA lived to fight another day after scoring a 59-52 win over Arellano University in the NCAA Season 97...


Kim Aurin did not leave anything to chance, powering University of Perpetual Help DALTA to a 63-60 victory over Emilio Aguinaldo College and punching...


University of Perpetual Help System DALTA fended off Lyceum of the Philippines University, 72-69, for its third win of the NCAA Season 97 seniors...


San Beda University fended off University of Perpetual Help System DALTA, taking a 78-71 decision to clinch a play-in spot in the NCAA Season...


Mapua University took its wrath to University of Perpetual Help System DALTA Altas with a huge 95-83 win to bounce back in the NCAA...


De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde kept University of Perpetual Help System DALTA at bay late, taking an 83-73 wire-to-wire win, in the NCAA...