Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Darang keeps Diliman alive, sends Olivarez to PG Flex-UCBL winner-take-all

Defending champion Diliman College forced a rubber match on Monday, with an 82-72 win over Olivarez College in Game Two of their best-of-three title series in the PG Flex Linoleum-Universities and Colleges Basketball League at the Olivarez gym in Parañaque City.

Putting their heartbreaking 64-62 defeat in the opener last week behind, the Blue Dragons started in a business-like manner and took a 25-15 advantage.

With Robbi Darang and Johnnel Bauzon hitting their targets, the Blue Dragons padded their lead to 61-47 heading into the final quarter.

The Sea Lions, however, refused to give up the fight easily. They rallied within eight, 67-59.

But it proved to be their last gallant stand. Diliman’s Kevin Gandjeto then imposed his will inside to score four his eight points in the fourth.

The Blue Dragons are hoping to become the first back-to-back champions of the event now on its fourth season.

Darang led all scorers with 25 points, including five triples. while adding three boards and six assists for Diliman.

Bauzon and Abdoulaye Niang added 12 points each aside from combining for 12 boards.

Season MVP Jayboy Solis led Olivarez with 18 points. John Lester Maurillo had 15 points and Yani Elie added 12.

Game Three will be on Thursday at the same venue.

#ReadMore  Gilas trounced by Italy in Bologna pocket tournament
Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


University of Perpetual Help System DALTA did not look far for its new head coach.  The school has named Frankie Lim’s assistant coach Myk...


NorthPort is just waiting for Jonathan Grey’s clearance from the doctor before bringing him aboard its 2020 PBA Philippine Cup campaign.  The four-year pro...


Universities and Colleges Basketball League (UCBL) President Franklin Evidente said on Monday that they remain committed to staging the league’s fifth season either late...


Builders Warehouse-UST cruised to its second win in the 2020 PBA D-League Aspirants’ Cup with a 106-93 trouncing of Diliman College, Monday at the...


NAGA CITY — University of the Philippines capped its three-game sweep of the PCCL Luzon Regional Championship with a 78-75 conquest of Diliman College,...


North All-Stars coach Randy Alcantara and South All-Stars tactician Don Dulay have picked their reserves in the 2019-20 Chooks-to-Go MPBL Lakan All-Star game. The...


BALANGA, BATAAN — Cebu-Casino Ethyl Alcohol kept its playoff chances alive, coming out with a 79-70 victory against the also-ran Parañaque-Yabo Sports in the...


Marikina weathered Jayboy Solis’ late-surge as they dispatched the also-ran Paranaque-Yabo Sports, 89-82, in the 2019-20 Chooks-to-Go/MPBL Lakan Cup at the Valenzuela Astrodome, Friday....