Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Abueva leads PBA PH Cup BPC race as Williams, Bolick complete top three

Calvin Abueva, Mikey Williams, and Robert Bolick spearhead a tight race for the 2021 Honda PBA Philippine Cup Best Player of the Conference plum.

The league on Sunday released the statistical points (SP) standings for the tournament’s top individual honor as of the elimination round’s end, and the do-it-all Magnolia forward tops the list with 35.36 SPs.

That’s thanks to his per-game norms of 16.1 points, 9.7 boards, 3.1 assists. 1.3 blocks, and 1.0 assists as he helped the Hotshots to an 8-3 record and clinch the third seed — indeed an improvement from last year’s no. 7 finish.

2021-pba-philippine-cup-tnt-vs-ginebra-mikey-williams Abueva leads PBA PH Cup BPC race as Williams, Bolick complete top three Basketball News PBA  - philippine sports news

Photo by PBA Images

Not far behind the 2016 Commissioner’s Cup BPC, though, are young guns Williams and Bolick, who have 35.30 and 35.27 SPs, respectively.

2021-pba-philippine-cup-alaska-vs-northport-robert-bolick Abueva leads PBA PH Cup BPC race as Williams, Bolick complete top three Basketball News PBA  - philippine sports news

Photo by PBA Images

The fourth overall pick in last March’s draft was indeed instrumental in TNT’s top-seed finish with averages of 18.4 points — including 36 versus NLEX last Sept. 10 — on top of 4.2 rebounds, 3.7 assists, and 1.2 steals.

Bolick, on the other hand, is on a great run with 18.1 points, 7.3 assists and 6.9 rebounds for NorthPort. That includes a rare triple-double against Alaska last Wednesday where he had 22 points, 13 rebounds, and 13 assists.

Another Batang Pier in rookie Jamie Malonzo is also in the race at fourth with 31.5 SPs, followed by Magnolia top big Ian Sangalang with 31.3.

Rounding out the Top 10 are San Miguel’s CJ Perez (30.7), Rain or Shine forward Javee Mocon (31.1), Beermen star Arwind Santos (29.6), Phoenix Super LPG’s Jason Perkins (29.4), and Ginebra’s Scottie Thompson (29.4).

#ReadMore  Chris Banchero, Sonny Thoss key Alaska's escape of Blackwater

Meanwhile, the Top Rookie award is also bannered by Williams and Malonzo. But also in the race are Meralco’s Alvin Pasaol (20.6), Calvin Oftana of NLEX (19.1), and Elasto Painters forward Santi Santillan (15.6).

Written By

Oftentimes on the sidelines. Forever a student of the game. Morayta-bred.

You May Also Like


Gilas Pilipinas Men ushered their new era on a strong note. In the first-ever FIBA game of the Philippines under Tim Cone, Gilas torched...


Mark Barroca and Japeth Aguilar will be headlining the 2024 PBA All-Star. The decorated veterans topped the fan voting and will therefore serve as...


Basketball will not stop for June Mar Fajardo and CJ Perez. The two are expected to join Gilas Pilipinas men on Friday during the...


CJ Perez completed a rare double as he earned Finals MVP honors after helping San Miguel conquer the PBA Season 48 Commissioner’s Cup Finals....


Poise was simply the difference as San Miguel turned back Magnolia, 104-102, to annex the PBA Season 48 Commissioner’s Cup title, Wednesday night. Chris...


San Miguel moved a win away from the PBA Season 48 Commissioner’s Cup title following a 108-98 Game 5 win, Sunday at the SMART...


Paul Lee dealt the toughest of blows in the endgame as Magnolia took down San Miguel anew, 96-85, to tie the PBA Season 48...


CJ Perez finally scored his first Best Player of the Conference award as he emerged as the top dog of the PBA Season 48...