Connect with us


Tiger Spikers subdue Fighting Maroons to clinch semis seat



Tiebreaker Times Tiger Spikers subdue Fighting Maroons to clinch semis seat News PVL UP UST Volleyball  UST Men's Volleyball UP Men's Volleyball Timothy Tajanlangit Odjie Mamon MAnuel Medina Mac Millete Kim Sawal Joshua Umandal Jayvee Sumagaysay Hands Chuacuco 2018 PVL Season 2018 PVL Men's Collegiate Conference

The University of Santo Tomas Tiger Spikers had to go through the ringer but got the job done, taking down the University of the Philippines Fighting Maroons in four sets, 25-22, 19-25, 25-22, 25-18, and booked the first semifinals spot in the 2018 Premier Volleyball League Collegiate Conference, Sunday afternoon at the FilOil Flying V Centre.

Head coach Odjie Mamon set the game plan for the match, which the Tigers followed – except that they were late to adjust in service reception in the first two sets.

“Nung second set, nagkarga talaga ng service yung UP. Actually, nung first two sets. Nagbigay ako ng instructions, so nung third set sa passing lanes, nag-adjust kami,” the former Thomasian standout shared.

When the Golden Spikers took charge of their connections, it was pretty much a point. Joshua Umandal led the squad with 17 markers, 15 of which came from attacks. Jayvee Sumagaysay dominated the middle with 14 points, six of which came from blocks.

All of the sets were tussles, until UST found their way in the frames they have won, erasing a second-set setback in which they needed to come back.

Team captain and league’s top scorer carried the fight for the Maroons with 23 points.

The semis-bound Tigers (7-0) will take on the winless Arellano University Chiefs (0-7) on Wednesday, August 22, at 8am. UP (4-3) will try to revive their own post-season bid when they battle the Adamson University Soaring Falcons (4-3) later that day at 6pm.

The Scores:

UST 3 Umandal 17, Sumagaysay 14, Medina 13, Carodan 12, Redido 10, Tajanlangit T 4, Tajanlangit J 0, Sawal L, Mendiolla L.

UP 1 – Millete 23, Castillo 9, Gohoc 8, Ijiran 4, San Pedro 3, Baldelovar 3, Consuelo 2, Enteria 0, Membreve 0, Nasol L.