Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


San Beda roars to second win at Arellano’s expense

The San Beda University Red Spikers denied fellow NCAA squad Arellano University Chiefs in four sets, 25-23, 22-25, 25-23, 25-16, and clinched their second consecutive victory of the 2018 Premier Volleyball League Collegiate Conference, Wednesday afternoon at the FilOil Flying V Centre.

After being dominated in scoring skills in their last game against the University of the Philippines, the Mendiola-based squad topped their counterparts on attacks and in serves at 56 and 13, respectively, as opposed to the latter’s 47 and 4.

Jomaru Amagan paced the Red Spikers with 20 points, while fellow wing hitter Jeffrey Losa had 14 markers to tow the Red and White.

Despite the win, head coach Nes Pamilar knows that San Beda has still lots to work on. “Maganda yung ginalaw nila, pero hindi pa convincing,” he said. “May mga simpleng errors lalo na sa communication.”

The Chiefs leaned on the scoring of Demy Lapuz and Christian Dela Paz to lead early in the first three sets, but could not sustain the momentum in the first and third frames to eventually concede. The Arellano wingers ended with 17 and 16 markers, respectively.

The Red Spikers (2-2) will take on the De La Salle Green Spikers (0-4) on August 12 at 9am. On the other hand, the Legarda-based squad (0-4) will face the CSB Blazers the day before at 6pm.

The Scores:

SBU 3 – Amagan 20, Losa 14, Torres 13, Decano 13, Nursiddik 9, Nuguid 5, Ulibas 2, Daquil 1, Tibay L.

AU 1 – Lapuz 17, Dela Paz 16, Segovia 11, Liberato 10, Rinon 2, Meneses 2, Villados 0, Domingo 0, Tan 0, Caccam 0, Cabillan 0, Arellano L, Esguerra L.

#ReadMore  Kielvj gets back at Aura PH as Execration ends MPL PH Finals drought

Grew to appreciate various sports from tennis to judo. True-maroon kiddo since the new millennium. Fanboy. Singer. Occasional sports writer.

You May Also Like


Tots Carlos delivered her best performance as a pro. Carlos dropped a career-high, powering Creamline to a tight four-set, 25-22, 21-25, 25-22, 25-18, win...


Defending champion Creamline needed to fight off a tough challenge from Farm Fresh to open its title-retention bid. Still, the Cool Smashers showcased their...


Creamline is hard at work as it tries to clinch its fourth consecutive All-Filipino Conference in the Premier Volleyball League. Fresh from winning their...


All-Filipino Conference champion once more. 15-0 sweep. No Jia De Guzman and Ced Domingo. This 2023 Premier Volleyball League 2nd AFC crown was just...


Creamline completed its perfect run in the 2023 Premier Volleyball League Second All-Filipino Conference, winning all its 15 matches en route to the championship...


Despite undergoing numerous changes in this conference alone, one thing remains constant for defending All-Filipino Conference champion Creamline: the unwavering trust of head coach...


Creamline is one win away from the championship and completing a perfect run in the 2023 Premier Volleyball League Second All-Filipino Conference. The defending...


Creamline proved to be too much in the end, booting out Chery Tiggo in Game 2 via sweep, 26-24, 25-21, 25-21, en route to...