Connect with us


20-woman pool announced for Women’s Volleyball National Team



Tiebreaker Times 20-woman pool announced for Women's Volleyball National Team News PSL  Shaq delos Santos Rhea Dimaculangan Rebecca Rivera Mylene Paat Myla Pablo MJ Phillips Mika Reyes Majoy Baron Maika Ortiz Larong Volleyball ng Pilipinas Inc. Kim Fajardo Kianna Dy Jia Morado Jaja Santiago Dindin Santiago-Manabat Denden Lazaro Dawn Macandili CJ Rosario Cha Cruz Ces Molina Alyssa Valdez Aby Marano 2018 Asian Games-Volleyball

The Philippine Women’s Volleyball National Team pool was officially named for their upcoming international tournaments on Wednesday afternoon.

Twenty players will make up the pool, namely: Mika Reyes, Jaja Santiago, Jia Morado, Alyssa Valdez, Rebecca Rivera, CJ Rosario, Mylene Paat, Maika Ortiz, Rhea Dimaculangan, Ces Molina, Dindin Santiago-Manabat, Aby Maraño, Kianna Dy, Cha Cruz, Majoy Baron, Dawn Macandili, Kim Fajardo, MJ Phillips, Denden Lazaro, and Myla Pablo.

LVPI acting president Peter Cayco clarified tjat the 20 were selected from a list of names taken from the tryouts two months ago under Ramil De Jesus. In the past week, the national team has convened thrice to hash out a lineup and begin training with new head coach Shaq Delos Santos.

From the 20, 12 will be selected for the final Asian Games roster, plus two reserves. That lineup will be released some time before June 15, the deadline for the list of names for all competing teams in the Asian Games.

“The coaches are considering players who can play multiple positions para kung may injury, mas madaling mapalitan,”
said Cayco, who added that the final lineup will have just one libero.

The national team will now practice thrice a week every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, a condition agreed upon by the coaches and players. The team will then participate as a guest team in the PSL Invitational Cup on June 23.

READ  Alyssa Valdez pushes Creamline to quick win against Adamson-Akari

Miguel Luis Flores fell face first into sports writing in high sch9l and has never gotten up. He reluctantly stumbled into the volleyball beat when he started with Tiebreaker Times three years ago. Now, he has waded through everything volleyball - from its icky politics to the post-modern art that is Jia Morado's setting.