Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


United City remains as king of PFL

CARMONA, CAVITE — They may have a new identity, but the winning tradition never stops. 

Needing a victory to seal the championship, United City trounced Stallion Laguna, 7-1, Friday night at the PFF National Training Center. And they have once again been crowned the winners of the 2020 season of the Philippines Football League sponsored by Qatar Airways.

With the title in its sights, United City looked determined to stamp its authority on Stallion in the first half. Mike Ott gave the league leaders an early lead in the 6th minute. Ibrahima N’Dour, though, levelled the game for Stallion with an impressive finish in the 12th minute.

The goal against us made us really aggressive,” said coach Frank Muescan. “Thank God we got the win and became the champions tonight.

N’Dour’s strike was actually the first goal United City conceded in the tournament. Fortunately, though, a Takashi Odawara header in the 25th minute restored United City’s lead and gave Muescan’s men a one-goal cushion at the break.

Come the second half, United City went goal-crazy. It found the back of the net five times thanks to Mike Ott, OJ Porteria, and Bienvenido Maranon. Mike Ott secured his brace in the 52nd minute, while Maranon seized a hat-trick thanks to strikes in the 58th, 66 and 74th minutes.

Porteria then got his goal in the 71st minute thanks to an assist from Mike Ott.

I’m happy for the team,” said Maranon. “I’m proud of this team because it’s not easy changing management, but I’m thankful our new management is good.

United City (12 points) shall end its campaign against Kaya Football Club-Iloilo at 8:00 PM on November 9, 2020. On the other hand, Stallion (1 point) plays its fourth match of the tourney against the Azkals Development Team earlier at 9:00 AM on the same day.

United City XI: Pinthus (GK), Kane, Mike Ott, Maranon, Manu Ott, Odawara, Porteria, Schrock ©, Lopez Mendy, Dutosme, Minegeshi.

#ReadMore  Paul Desiderio, Ron Dennison close chapter in friendly rivalry

Stallion Laguna: Pepito (GK), Nierras, Villareal, Alquiros, Sendra, Doctora ©, Melliza, N’Dour, Regala, Belgira, Arboleda.

Written By

Lorenzo's a frustrated author who knows a thing or two about Football and Basketball. Went all green from Ortigas to Taft. Supports Liverpool FC, FC Bayern Munich and the Alaska Aces

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


All PBA teams should be back to work before the week ends. Commissioner Willie Marcial said that nine ball clubs are off to Batangas...


NLEX is headed to Clark for the resumption of its practices. Road Warriors head coach Yeng Guiao confirmed as much in a report from...


Magnolia hopes to finalize by Thursday the venue for its return to practice in preparation for the 2021 PBA season. “Hopefully, we can close...


TNT is off to Ilocos Norte for its own training camp. In a report by Rey Joble of PBA Rush Monday, Tropang Giga governor...


Meralco will get the ball rolling. The Bolts announced through their official social media accounts that they are heading for Ilocos Norte on Sunday...

Mixed Martial Arts

There’s a new king in the ONE Championship heavyweight division. Arjan “Singh” Bhullar turned ONE: Dangal into his personal coronation ceremony after stopping ONE...


PLDT Home Fibr has received clearance the Games and Amusements Board to hold a 14-day bubble camp at Splendido Hotel in Alfonso, Tagaytay.  The...

3x3 Basketball

Manila Chooks added a veteran to its pool that will compete in the 2021 FIBA 3×3 Lipik Challenger in Croatia from May 21-22. Six-foot-three...