Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Ateneo retains clean slate with UE rout in prelude to NU showdown

Last year’s runners-up Ateneo de Manila University Blue Eagles are on a roll, showing their readiness for their showdown with the defending champions.

The Blue Eagles of Katipunan toppled the University of the East Red Warriors, 4-1, to pocket their third straight win, Saturday morning at the Rizal Memorial Badminton Hall.

Skipper Carlo Remo once again opened the day with a sweet sweep of AJ Manlalangit in the first singles match. The long-time Ateneo stalwart pulled away early and never looked back to wrap up both games in 21-10 scorelines.

Then it was the turn of former team captain Clarence Filart to take a win for the Blue and White. In perhaps his most dominant showing this season, the fifth-year Eagle used his length to cover the court well and win it at 21-8, 21-10, over Benjamin Silva.

The current lead man Remo and last year’s top rookie Keoni Asuncion completed the tie win after shaking off the tough challenge of Andrew Barreto and Clarence Camacho, 21-16, 21-15. The duo from Recto surprisingly held their ground against the Ateneans, before the latter caught fire and eventually rolled up the victory.

Filart and newbie Tomas Alfonso Fernandez also won against Manlalangit and Kenneth Cruz in a similar scoreline in the second doubles match. UE’s AJ David finished off Sean Chan, 22-20, 21-16, to avoid the Ateneo sweep.

The Blue Eagles (3-0) will face the National University Bulldogs (3-0) in a repeat of last year’s Finals showdown, Saturday morning at 8am. This will happen as the Red Warriors (0-4) battle the De La Salle Green Archers (2-1) simultaneously.

#ReadMore  Rod Roque most likely to keep coaching reins until end of season

Grew to appreciate various sports from tennis to judo. True-maroon kiddo since the new millennium. Fanboy. Singer. Occasional sports writer.

You May Also Like


Ateneo de Manila University had a chance for payback against then six-time UAAP men’s badminton champion National University in Season 85, but the latter...


After ending National University’s 60-tie winning streak last Wednesday, Ateneo de Manila University made sure to finish the job four days later. Behind a...


NATIONAL University relied on its doubles pairs before Mark Velasco dominated in the decider to complete a massive 3-2 reverse sweep of University of...


The longest active winning streak in the UAAP has been broken. Ateneo de Manila University halted the run of the reigning seven-time UAAP Men’s...


National University extended the UAAP’s longest current winning streak to 60 by defeating fellow semifinalist University of the Philippines, 3-2, on Sunday at the...


Defending, seven-time champion National University and University of the Philippines turned down their respective foes to secure two of the Final Four berths in...


University of the Philippines secured a share of the lead in the UAAP Season 86 Men’s Badminton tournament after clinching a 3-2 victory over...


Seven-time defending champion National University initiated its title defense with a dominant 5-0 sweep of Adamson University on the opening day of the UAAP...