Connect with us


La Salle reigns for 10th time, vanquishes Ateneo



Tiebreaker Times La Salle reigns for 10th time, vanquishes Ateneo ADMU DLSU News UAAP Volleyball  UAAP Season 79 Women's Volleyball UAAP Season 79 Tai Bundit Ramil De Jesus DLSU Women's Volleyball Ateneo Women's Volleyball

The De La Salle University Lady Spikers proved that elimination round matches are an entirely different beast from playoff games.

La Salle’s 0-2 record in the elimination round against the Ateneo de Manila University Lady Eagles did not matter in the Finals, as the Lady Spikers swept the best-of-three series against the Lady Eagles with a five-set conquest in Game Two, 19-25, 25-14, 18-25, 25-18, 15-10, at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

The first two sets saw each team display their own brand of dominance. The Lady Eagles pulled away late in the first set thanks to laser-quick transitions, while La Salle’s heavy service game allowed the Lady Spikers to knot the match at a set apiece.

Ateneo gained the edge in the third frame after a La Salle lineup gamble went sour. From a one-point lead, the Lady Eagles nursed their advantage to a whooping 23-17. La Salle, however, showed their resiliency and countered with a quick fourth-set win to force a decider.

The Lady Spikers sprinted out of the gates in the fifth set, taking a 6-1 lead after continuous Ateneo miscues. The Lady Spikers continued their domination until the Lady Eagles mustered a comeback and trimmed the lead down to two, 8-10. Long rallies followed which La Salle used to extinguish Ateneo for good.

La Salle have won their 10th title, all under head coach Ramil De Jesus.

READ  Adamson forces playoff against UST with comeback win over FEU

Miguel Luis Flores fell face first into sports writing in high sch9l and has never gotten up. He reluctantly stumbled into the volleyball beat when he started with Tiebreaker Times three years ago. Now, he has waded through everything volleyball - from its icky politics to the post-modern art that is Jia Morado's setting.