Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


UAAP 85 WBD: Inlayo, UP set up Final clash vs Ateneo

University of the Philippines booked a return trip to the Finals after a clinical 5-0 rout of University of Santo Tomas on the final day of the UAAP Season 85 women’s badminton tournament qualifying round, Saturday afternoon at the Centro Atletico Badminton Center in Cubao, Quezon City.

The win sent the Fighting Maroons to its sixth Finals appearance in seven seasons, only missing the championship battle in UAAP Season 82.

And it was a familiar name in Lea Inlayo that clinched UP the ticket as the UAAP Season 78 Rookie of the Year and fellow national team member Susmita Ramos won the first doubles match, 21-13, 21-16.

Ramos earlier opened the day with a first singles rubber win over Charlize Belen, 21-16, 21-9, before fellow rookie Anthea Gonzalez made it a 2-0 advantage, 21-9, 21-6, against Elij Pena, in the second singles.

Gonzalez and captain Andrea Abalos set up the sweep in the second doubles match, 21-12, 21-16, against Pena and Clara Ignacio, while Inlayo completed the sweep against Samantha Chozas, 21-14, 21-14.

“Yun nga po, happy at the same time motivated kami dahil nakapasok uli kami sa Finals,” Inlayo said. “Gagawin naming motivation yung talo namin sa Ateneo last time, kasi sayang yun eh, andun na kami. 2-2 na. So magtutulungan na lang kami kung ano pang gagawing strategy against Ateneo.”

On the other hand, Finals-bound Ateneo de Manila University closed the elims unscathed at 5-0 with a 4-1 rout of rival De La Salle University.

Chanelle Lunod and Missy Cervantes clinched the win for the reigning back-to-back champions with the quick work of Palma Cruz and Shaynne Boloron, 21-11, 21-17, in 27 minutes of the first doubles match.

#ReadMore  PH bodybuilding team saddened after being DQd in SEA Games

Rookie Jochelle Alvarez put Ateneo on top over Mia Manguilimotan, 21-19, 21-14, before captain Mika De Guzman sent the squad 2-0 up with a 21-7, 21-6 whitewashing of Katrina Togado.

The Fighting Maroons will challenge the Blue Eagles in the championship tie set on Sunday at 1 p.m.

National University completed the winners of the day, taking down Adamson University, also at 5-0.

Sarah Barredo and Ybonnie Dema-ano won the tie for the Lady Bulldogs, 21-13, 21-14, over Graciel Cabriga and Camille Buagas in the first doubles match. Karyll Rio and Kate De Guzman took down Patricia Timosa and Janine San Ignacio in the first two singles matches to set up NU for another third-place playoff.

The Lady Bulldogs and the Lady Green Shuttlers will simultaneously duke it out for the bronze at 1 p.m.

Grew to appreciate various sports from tennis to judo. True-maroon kiddo since the new millennium. Fanboy. Singer. Occasional sports writer.

You May Also Like


As one of the proudest collegiate programs in the country, University of Santo Tomas badly wanted its campaign in the UAAP Season 85 Men’s...


It was a sorry end to the campaign for Ateneo de Manila University in the UAAP Season 85 Women’s Basketball Tournament. Dreaming of causing...


National University scored its fifth series win with a narrow 2.5-1.5 win over Adamson University in Round 9 of the UAAP Season 85 Women’s...


University of Sto. Tomas closed out the first half of the season on top of the standings after securing a 2-2 deuce against University...


With Adamson University taking a bye to open the round, Far Eastern University – Diliman surged ahead in the standings after a 3.5-0.5 victory...


Reigning champion University of the Philippines found itself on top of the UAAP Season 85 Collegiate Men’s Athletics Championships, taking a 64-60 close lead...


Adamson University may have lost its final elimination round game in the UAAP Season 85 Men’s Basketball Tournament but it has earned one more...


Ateneo de Manila University has locked up the UAAP men’s basketball tournament top seed for the fifth consecutive season after beating Adamson University on...