Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


UAAP 85 MBD: Arthur Salvado blasts Enzo Rivera in rubber, forges Ateneo-NU showdown

National University and Ateneo de Manila University took care of separate opponents and secured their places in the Finals of the UAAP Season 85 men’s badminton tournament, Sunday at the Centro Atletico Badminton Center in Quezon City.

The Blue Eagles saw their captain Arthur Salvado fend off UP rookie Enzo Rivera, 21-15, 21-9, in the third and deciding singles match to deny University of the Philippines, 3-2.

The Fighting Maroons took the 2-1 advantage with rookie Jelo Albo flexing his game in the singles and doubles matches he had. Albo crushed Bryan Bernardo 21-10, 21-4, in the first singles match, before teaming up with Jason Vanzuela in a 21-17, 21-16 decision past Salvado and Lyrden Laborte.

Bernardo made amends in the second doubles as he and Charles Bagasbas outlasted Wileyto Yray and Charles Alcarpio in three, 21-13, 19-21, 21-12, to force the deciding singles match.

“The team’s performance was a little bit shaky because of the pressure of NU’s streak. And our chances of making the Finals also boiled down to this tie,” Salvado admitted. “Fortunately, I was able to handle the pressure in the third singles and the stress of the 2-2 standing.”

UAAP-S85-MBD-November-6-NU-v-DLSU-Solomon-Padiz-Jr-July-Villabrille-2 UAAP 85 MBD: Arthur Salvado blasts Enzo Rivera in rubber, forges Ateneo-NU showdown ADMU AdU Badminton DLSU News NU UAAP UP UST  - philippine sports newsOn the other hand, reigning six-time champions Bulldogs kept their unbeaten streak to four in the season and to 54 since Season 77, after dismantling De La Salle University, 4-1, in a prelude to that showdown against the Blue Eagles.

Rookies Lanz Zafra and Mark Velasco opened the day with a 2-0 advantage for the Bulldogs in the first two singles matches. Zafra took down Bless Linaban, 21-7, 21-12, and the Velasco waylaid Jason Pajarillo, 21-8, 21-9.

#ReadMore  Jamie Malonzo joins first batch of Gilas players at Inspire

National team standouts Julius Villabrille and Solomon Padiz Jr. then closed the tie with a 21-15, 21-9 sweep of Joshua Morada and Pete Abellana.

University of Santo Tomas fashioned the day’s only sweep, routing Adamson University, 5-0, to boost its chance of finishing on the podium.

Janzen Panisales and RJ Galve once more provided the clinching win in the first doubles match with a 21-8, 21-12 dominant win over CL Garcia and Harold Bonilla.

The Bulldogs and the Blue Eagles meet for the first time this season before Sunday’s finals, as the Golden Shuttlers and the Fighting Maroons dispute the bronze medal. The Green Shuttlers and the Soaring Falcons, on the other hand, will try to end their season with a win.

All ties are scheduled at 8 a.m. on Saturday.

Grew to appreciate various sports from tennis to judo. True-maroon kiddo since the new millennium. Fanboy. Singer. Occasional sports writer.

You May Also Like


Ateneo de Manila University had a chance for payback against then six-time UAAP men’s badminton champion National University in Season 85, but the latter...


After ending National University’s 60-tie winning streak last Wednesday, Ateneo de Manila University made sure to finish the job four days later. Behind a...


NATIONAL University relied on its doubles pairs before Mark Velasco dominated in the decider to complete a massive 3-2 reverse sweep of University of...


The longest active winning streak in the UAAP has been broken. Ateneo de Manila University halted the run of the reigning seven-time UAAP Men’s...


National University extended the UAAP’s longest current winning streak to 60 by defeating fellow semifinalist University of the Philippines, 3-2, on Sunday at the...


Defending, seven-time champion National University and University of the Philippines turned down their respective foes to secure two of the Final Four berths in...


University of the Philippines secured a share of the lead in the UAAP Season 86 Men’s Badminton tournament after clinching a 3-2 victory over...


Seven-time defending champion National University initiated its title defense with a dominant 5-0 sweep of Adamson University on the opening day of the UAAP...