Connect with us


Tantoy Ferrer steps up as UST seals Final Four berth at La Salle’s expense



Tiebreaker Times Tantoy Ferrer steps up as UST seals Final Four berth at La Salle's expense Basketball DLSU News UAAP UST  UST Women's Basketball UAAP Season 82 Women's Basketball UAAP Season 82 Tantoy Ferrer Ruby Portillo Grace Irebu DLSU Women's Basketball Cholo Villanueva

University of Santo Tomas pounced on La Salle, taking a dominant 71-49 win in the UAAP Season 82 Women’s Basketball Tournament, Wednesday at the Quadricentennial Pavilion.

It was an important win for the Growling Tigresses, as they went up to 10-3 while booking their slot in the Final Four.

“I’m just happy,” said UST head coach Haydee Ong, as her team missed out on the playoff incentive a year ago by just one game.

UST leaned on their twin towers in Grace Irebu and Tantoy Ferrer, who finished with 13 and 12 points, respectively. Reigning MVP Irebu grabbed 16 rebounds, while sophomore Ferrer added seven boards.

Leading by just 10 at the half, the Tigresses allowed just four points in the third canto to turn the game into a rout.

“I just told them that what we trained in the last two days is yung depensa namin. So ‘yung adjustment namin nung nangyari nung first half, nagawa naman namin,” expressed Ong.

Ferrer put on the finishing touches in the game, as UST led by as much as 32 points in the contest.

Floor general Ruby Portillo also scattered 12 points, four rebounds, three steals, and an assist for UST.

It was a tough loss for the Lady Archers as they fell to 6-6, half-a-game behind fourth-running Far Eastern University.

Maureen Okoli was the lone La Salle player in double digits in points with 11, along with eight rebounds.

Leading Rookie of the Year candidate Kent Pastrana was limited to just 15 minutes in the game. She only had six points on four attempts.

READ  Pocholo Bugas keeps FEU-D unscathed in UAAP 82 High School Football

The Scores:

UST 71 – Irebu 13, Ferrer 12, Portillo 12, Gandalla 7, Callangan 6, Panti 6, Tacatac 6, Rivera 5, Soriano 4, Gonzales 0, Javier 0, Sangalang 0.

DLSU 49 – Okoli 11, Dalisay 8, Pastrana 6, Quingco 6, Torres 5, Binaohan 4, Paraiso 4, Sario 3, Revillosa 2, Jimenez 0, Malarde 0.

Quarterscores: 20-11, 38-28, 52-32, 71-49