Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


SWP, ABAP to be honored during PSA Awards

The two sports federations responsible for flying high the country’s flag in the Tokyo Olympics won’t be missed out on the March 14 San Miguel Corporation-Philippine Sportswriters Association (SMC-PSA) Annual Awards Night.

Samahang Weightlifting ng Pilipinas (SWP) and the Association of Boxing Alliances in the Philippines (ABAP) are both going to be honored with the National Sports Association (NSA) of the Year Award as they played crucial roles in assuring the Philippines’ most glorious Olympic campaign ever.

Weightlifter Hidilyn Diaz delivered the historic first-ever Olympic gold medal for the country, while boxers Carlo Paalam, Nesthy Petecio, and Eumir Marcial accounted for three other medals to cap the Filipino delegation’s most productive stint in its history of Olympic participation.

SWP president Monico Puentevella and ABAP prexy Ricky Vargas are expected to receive the award on behalf of their respective associations during the special event presented by the Philippine Sports Commission, Philippine Olympic Committee, and Cignal TV.

Vargas had since been succeeded by former executive director Ed Picson as head of the country’s governing body for boxing.

This marks the first time the weightlifting association will be honored with a recognition by the country’s oldest media organization, while ABAP is going to be feted with the same award for the third straight year.

As expected, the 31-year-old Diaz was the hands-down choice as the 2021 Athlete of the Year by the country’s oldest media organization during the gala night at the Diamond Hotel and backed by MILO (official choco milk), 1Pacman, Philippine Basketball Association (PBA), Philracom, Rain or Shine, ICTSI, Chooks-to-Go, MVP Sports Foundation, and Smart.

#ReadMore  Jayson Castro concedes TNT's guns not enough to outlast SMB's artillery

Paalam and Petecio, meanwhile, provided a pair of silver, and Marcial a bronze to join Diaz on the Olympic podium.

For their feat, the three boxers will be honored each with a Major Award during the traditional awards night.

The three medals won by ABAP are also the most by the federation in its long history of competing in the quadrennial showpiece.

Written By

You May Also Like


The Philippine Basketball Association is starting to recover its lost profits stemming from the COVID-19 pandemic. In a report by league chairman Ricky Vargas,...

19th Asian Games

PBA chairman Ricky Vargas revealed that two players considered for Gilas Pilipinas for the 19th Asian Games were ultimately taken out of the plan...

2023 FIBA World Cup

PBA chairman Ricky Vargas admits that Asia’s first play-for-pay league is taking a significant risk by assuming responsibility for the country’s campaign in the...

19th Asian Games

In the midst of the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2023 Final Phase, the Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas, hosts of the event, also began forming...

2024 Summer Olympics

Boxing icon Manny Pacquiao is aiming to extend his legendary boxing career by pursuing an Olympic medal in Paris next year. Philippine Olympic Committee...


Deputy Speaker Robbie Puno, the new president of the Association of Boxing Alliances in the Philippines (ABAP), remembers the first world-class fight he ever...


TNT honored Harvey Carey the best way it could. The Tropang Giga retired the franchise lifer’s jersey no. 4 in a ceremony held at...


Roger Pogoy will be with TNT during his prime years. The 31-year-old Cebuano sniper signed a three-year, maximum extension with the Tropang Giga on...