Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times
Photos from Senate PRIB

2020 Tokyo Olympics

Senate confers highest honor to Diaz, boxing trio

For their historic campaign in the 2020 Summer Games in Tokyo, Hidilyn Diaz and boxers Nesthy Petecio, Carlo Paalam, and Eumir Marcial were honored with the Senate Medal of Excellence.

It’s the highest award the higher chamber can bestow on an individual.

“Ms. Diaz did not just win the gold medal, she also won against poverty,” said Senate President Tito Sotto.

“She also won over depression and fear while she was training in another country and her name was being dragged in politics.”

Sotto authored Senate Resolution No. 882 to honor Diaz as the Senate also gave her a P1-million incentive.

The senate gave a total of P2.4-million, with each senator pledging P100,000.

Petecio and Paalam were given P500,000. Meanwhile, Marcial was given a P400,000 check.

The senate also adopted Resolutions no. 828, 833, and 813 to honor the boxing trio. They were authored by Miguel Zubiri.

Also present was Philippine Olympic Committee president Bambol Tolentino – who was lauded by the senate, especially fellow Caviteno Bong Revilla – as the winningest president to ever hold the committee.

Paalam could not attend the special day.

#ReadMore  RJ Abarrientos was ready for war vs Korea
Written By

You May Also Like

32nd SEA Games

Wherever the late president of the Association of Boxing Alliances in the Philippines, Ed Picson, may be, chances are he is smiling. ABAP secretary-general...

32nd SEA Games

Mission accomplished for Team Pilipinas. The 840-strong contingent of the Philippines was given a mission to surpass the 52-gold tally of the team in...

32nd SEA Games

Nesthy Petecio reclaimed her Southeast Asian Games featherweight title with a unanimous decision victory over Indonesia’s Ratna Sari Devi in the final, held on...

32nd SEA Games

Carlo Paalam’s magical run continues as he secured his second Southeast Asian Games title and his first in the men’s boxing bantamweight (under-54 kg)...

32nd SEA Games

Tokyo Olympics silver medalist Nesthy Petecio proved to be too much for Vy Sreysros of Cambodia on Wednesday, scoring a 5-0 win in the...

32nd SEA Games

Tokyo Olympics silver medalist Carlo Paalam breezed past the bantamweight quarterfinals, as did Paul Julyfer Bascon in the light welterweight class of the men’s...


Hidilyn Diaz had an impressive debut in the women’s under-59 kg category at the 2023 Asian Weightlifting Championships at the Jinju Arena in South...

32nd SEA Games

Carlo Paalam and Paul Julyfer Bascon are determined to make their mark in the 32nd Southeast Asian Games, Paalam, who recently won a silver...