Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


PBA to crown Season 45’s best with Special Awards Night

Who will be crowned as the best of the best of the PBA Bubble?

That will finally be answered Sunday, as the league holds its virtual Special Awards Night to formally close Season 45–a season like never before.

The hour-long program to be aired live on TV5 starting at 6:00 p.m. will fete the top performers of the two-month bubble play held in Clark, Pampanga.

The highlight of the special rites will be the naming of the Best Player of the Conference for the 2020 Philippine Cup.

No Most Valuable Player will be named this time, as the league only held one conference in the season shortened due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Six players are vying for the plum, with a couple of pairs of them running mates in squads that made waves in the bubble.

Those are Phoenix’s star combo of Matthew Wright and Calvin Abueva, and the spitfire duo of stats race king Ray Parks and Roger Pogoy of TNT.

Also in contention is new Philippine Cup champion Barangay Ginebra’s resident scorer Stanley Pringle, as well as CJ Perez of Terrafirma.

Other awards to be given out are the Outstanding Rookie, the Most Improved Player, and the Samboy Lim Sportsmanship Award.

Dyip sniper Roosevelt Adams emerged as the top neophyte stats-wise, but he faces stiff competition for the award in lieu of the Rookie of the Year honors.

There’s Meralco’s Aaron Black, as well as Ginebra forward Arvin Tolentino, Alaska center Barkley Ebona, and winger Aris Dionisio of Magnolia.

#ReadMore  NLEX continues to be Alaska's roadblock, books first-ever trip to the semifinals

The Most Improved Player race, meanwhile, is a tight one, headlined by the Fuel Masters’ bruising pair of Justin Chua and Jason Perkins.

Chua, 31, emerged as the league’s blocks leader at season’s end with 1.6 a night, while Perkins hiked his all-around output from the last Philippine Cup.

Others fighting for the award last won by San Miguel’s Mo Tautuaa are Gin King Prince Caperal, NLEX’s Raul Soyud, and Javee Mocon of Rain or Shine.

It is also an interesting contest for the Sportsmanship Award as Abueva, who returned after a 16-month suspension, is a nominee.

Perez is also in the running, along with reigning three-time awardee Gabe Norwood of RoS, Ginebra’s Scottie Thompson, and Road Warrior Kevin Alas.

The Outstanding/Elite Five, in place of the usual Mythical Team, will also be given out.

Written By

Oftentimes on the sidelines. Forever a student of the game. Morayta-bred.

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


Yeng Guiao felt lucky that NLEX faced San Miguel at a time when the perennial contenders are still figuring things out with a couple...


Arwind Santos simply advised Robert Bolick to move on as the young star floundered during the most crucial of times in NorthPort’s 2021 PBA...


PAGADIAN, ZAMBOANGA DEL SUR –BYB Kapatagan created a three-way logjam for the top seed after outlasting Globalport-MisOr, 63-62, in the Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas VisMin Super...


NLEX flaunted its depth against San Miguel, taking an impressive victory to open its 2021-22 PBA Governors’ Cup campaign, Wednesday at the Ynares Sports...


Bouncing back from a ‘really disappointing’ campaign in the previous conference is the main objective of Alaska in the 2021 PBA Governors’ Cup. The...


Arwind Santos turned in a vintage performance in his NorthPort debut Wednesday, with even their opponents singing praises for him. Alaska head coach Jeff...


PAGADIAN, ZAMBOANGA DEL SUR—Zamboanga Sibugay flexed its might on MFT Iligan, 82-71, to take solo second spot in the Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas VisMin Super Cup...


Alaska didn’t want to be a mere footnote to Arwind Santos’ debut with his new team as it withstood NorthPort, 87-85, in a thrilling...