Connect with us


Shola Alvarez, Lady Bombers stun Lady Blazers to revive semis hopes



Tiebreaker Times Shola Alvarez, Lady Bombers stun Lady Blazers to revive semis hopes CSB JRU NCAA News Volleyball  Shola Alvarez Saint Benilde Women's Volleyball Ranya Musa NCAA Season 93 Women's Volleyabll NCAA Season 93 Mia Tioseco MG Rivera JRU Women's Volleyball Dolly Verzosa Arnold Laniog Annie Macaraya

The Jose Rizal University Lady Bombers are not yet done with their giant-killing ways.

After shocking the San Sebastian Lady Stags in five sets weeks ago, the Lady Stags pulled off an even bigger stunner as they swept Season 91 champions College of Saint Benilde Lady Blazers, 25-21, 25-22, 25-21, Wednesday afternoon at the FilOil Flying V Centre.

Team captain Shola Alvarez carried the Bombers once more with 21 points off 20 attacks and an ace, most of which came at crucial junctures of the match. Fellow outside hitter Dolly Verzosa finished with 16 markers.

JRU took the initiative in all of the frames played, though Saint Benilde played catch up throughout. Nonetheless, comfortable leads and clutch hitting from their open spikers sealed the win for the former.

Head coach Mia Tioseco very much welcomed the victory, as it boosts their momentum for the semifinals bid.

“Definitely [important] kasi tatlong teams yung naglalaban for that single spot. Naka-isa kami, one step towards that goal,” she said.

For the long-time mentor, it also gave back her team’s confidence that they need in that final push.

“We came from a two-time losing skid, so for them para ma-build nila ulit ‘yung confidence nila to fight in the next games,” Tioseco added.

Skipper Ranya Musa fired 12 markers for the Blazers.

JRU (3-3) will try to continue their run towards that Final Four goal when they face the Mapua University (0-5) on Sunday. CSB (3-3) will face the unbeaten Arellano University (6-0) on Monday.

The Scores:

READ  FEU returns to the top in Men's Chess

JRU 3 – Alvarez 21, Verzosa 16, Montojo 6, Rivera 2, Ebuenga 2, Bautista 1, Bodiongan 0, Bondoc 0, Macaraya L.

CSB 0 – Musa 12, Austero 10, Pablo 9, Daguil 3, Cardiente 3, Ventura 2, Abriam 1, Enginco 0, Dolorito 0, Cui 0, Lim L, Torres L.