Connect with us


Lady Altas whitewash Lady Cardinals for second win



Tiebreaker Times Lady Altas whitewash Lady Cardinals for second win MIT NCAA News UPHSD Volleyball  Sammy Acaylar Perpetual Women's Volleyball Necelle Gual NCAA Season 92 Women's Volleyball NCAA Season 92 Marijo Medalla Mapua Women's Volleyball Lourdes Clemente Leonardo Toyco Dianne Latayan

The University of Perpetual Help System DALTA Lady Altas stamped their class after dominating the Mapua Institute of Technology Lady Cardinals in three sets, 25-15, 25-7, 25-19, Monday morning at the FilOil Flying V Centre.

Lourdes Clemente led the charge for the Perps with 10 points, while setter Necelle Mae Gual registered 28 excellent sets.

The Altas outclassed the Cardinals, doubling the latter’s spikes 32 to 16. Perpetual also had a better game at the net with eight blocks and 11 service aces.

Mapua tried to keep in step with the Altas in the third set. However, when the latter resumed their deadly form, there was no turning back.

Perpetual’s head coach Sammy Acaylar praised his players’ heads-up performance in several aspects to get this win.

The mentor shared, “We just [went] back to the basics. We focused on service receive and defensive pattern. Of course, there is a little adjustments on the set plays.”

Acaylar also shared that he keeps on reminding the girls to play consistenly well in preparation for tougher matches ahead. “Sabi ko na wag naming i-underestimate yung mga kalaban namin. Just keep on fighting.”

Dianne Latayan paced the Cardinals with eight points.

The Lady Altas (2-2) hopes to ride their winning steak when they face the winless Letran Lady Knights (0-4) on Wednesday, December 7. The Lady Cardinals (0-5) will battle the dangerous LPU Lady Pirates (2-1) after a long break on the following Wednesday.

The Scores:

UPHSD (3) – Clemente 10, Imbo 8, Bravo 6, Suyat 6, Gual 5, Versoza 5, Rosal 5, Tripoli 2, Umandal 2, Sangalang 1, Estanislao 0, Medalla L, Coching L.

READ  JRU rallies historic win over San Sebastian

MIT (0) – Latayan 8, Magundayao 6, Peña 3, Racelis 2, Sedenio 1, Aquino 1, Ramilo 1, Frando 0, Hermano 0, Luzon L.