Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Malacanang-PSC storm back to stun NHA in UNTV Cup

Malacañang-Philippine Sports Commission pulled off another come-from-behind win, this time nipping National Housing Authority (NHA), 77-76, in Group II elims of the 8th UNTV Cup held over the weekend at the Pasig City Sports Center.

The President’s men trailed the Builders in the first two quarters then outscored the Builders in the third to gain the initiative which they maintained to prevail and take the early Group II lead.

Former Philippine team pool member Eric dela Cuesta topscored for the Kamao with 19 points while Joseph Roque and Ian Garrido combined for 29 points as they helped negate the 34-point explosion of Alvin Vitug in the tournament organized by UNTV president and CEO Dr. Daniel Razon.

The Benneth Palad-mentored NHA slipped to 1-1.

Judiciary bounced back from a 64-60 defeat to the Kamao by downing the GSIS Furies, 88-74, in the other Group II match while Haddi Porto and Louis Lopez scored 22 points each in leading the Philippine International Trading Corporation to a 95-74 win over Philhealth in the lone Group I elims.

PITC’s win was its first in two games while handing the PhilHealth Plus their second straight in the event for public servants.

Former Ginebra player Chester Tolomia led the Judiciary Magis with 24 points but it was Frederick Salamat who turned the game around in their favor, draining five triples on the way to 19 points.

Rookies Erik Dionisio and Cristopher Dela Cruz made their presence felt by combining for 30 points and 17 rebounds in the event offering P4 million to the chosen charity of the champion team.

#ReadMore  SSS Kabalikat, DENR Warriors join UNTV Cup wars

The Scores:

First Game

Judiciary 88 C. Tolomia 24, F. Salamat 19, E. Dionisio 17, E. Dela Cruz 13, H. Bergonio 7, R. Malinao 5, C. Roma 2, V. Puno 1

GSIS 74 – R. Banzali 29, C. Gonzalez 10, R. Laurel 10, N. Cacatian 9, K. Ilano 7, T. Gementera 4, P. Dela Cuadra 2, M. Nuyana 2, T. Hernandez 1

Quarterscores: 27-13, 46-36, 60-52, 88-74.

Second Game

PITC 95 – H. Porto 22, L. Lopez 22, M. Martin 13, R. Vasallo 10, R. Regalado 9, M. Juan 8, A. Taplah 5, R. Daquioag 2, R. Barbers 2, M. Gecale 2

PhilHealth 74 – J. Aldave 20, K. Emata 11, R. Armojallas 10, E. Malana 10, E. Pacheco 9, J. Hierro 4

Quarterscores: 20-12, 42-34, 67-52, 95-74.

Third Game

Malacanang-PSC 77 – E. Dela Cuesta 19, J. Roque 18, V. Javier 12, I. Garrido 11, J. Jimenez 4, N. Javier 3, J. Punzalan 3, R. Abalos 1

NHA 76 – A. Vitug 34, M. Mercado 14, J. Dizon 9, A. Lustestica 9, J. Alastoy 4, W. Tibay 2, A. Palad 2, J. Forbes 1, R. Tibay 1

Quarterscores: 17-22, 33-39, 60-59, 77-76.

Written By

You May Also Like


ALCANTARA—Jaybie Mantilla put Dumaguete on his back and carried them to a 90-85 win over Tabogon in the Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas VisMin Super Cup, Thursday...


After a challenging season in the 2020 Chooks-to-Go Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League Lakan Cup, the Muntinlupa Cagers-Angelis Resort vowed to make some changes moving...


Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) completed its own Cinderella story, sweeping Armed Forces of the Philippines in their best-of-three title series to...


Newcomer Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) hopes to write a piece of history when it goes for a sweep of the UNTV...


Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) found an opportunity to strike early and wasted no time clobbering the injury-hit defending champion Armed Forces...


Expect a fierce duel as Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) and Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) start their best-of-three title series...


Team Celebrity rode on the red-hot shooting of Rayver Cruz and surprised the selection of PBA Legends and UNTV players, 102-101, in the Wish...


Allan Caidic and Johnny Abarrientos will spearhead a selection of PBA legends and current UNTV players who will play against a celebrity team in...