Connect with us


June Mar Fajardo, CJ Perez headline PBA Press Corps awardees



Tiebreaker Times June Mar Fajardo, CJ Perez headline PBA Press Corps awardees Uncategorized  Yeng Guiao Vic Manuel Thirdy Ravena PBA Season 44 Press Corps Awards Night PBA Season 44 Leo Gabo Kiefer Ravena June Mar Fajardo CJ Perez Christian Standhardinger Beau Belga Arwind Santos

Six-time PBA MVP winner June Mar Fajardo and Rookie of the Year CJ Perez lead the initial honor roll list to be recognized in the 2019 PBA Press Corps Awards Night next week at the Novotel Manila in Araneta City.

The San Miguel premier big man is the recipient of the Order of Merit for having garnered the most number of Player of the Week honor last season, while the prolific Columbian guard emerged as the new Scoring Champion, becoming the first rookie to lead the league in scoring since Eric Menk in 1999.

The awards are just two of the total 11 accolades to be handed out in the March 16 affair presented by Cignal TV.

A new batch of the All-Interview team is going to be honored, too, as well as the two Finals MVPs of last year’s PBA D-League.

Comprising the All-Interview team, which is given to personalities who churned out quotable quotes and at the same time, always make themselves available for interviews to the working men and women of the PBA beat, are Kiefer Ravena, Beau Belga, Vic Manuel, Arwind Santos, Christian Standhardinger, and coach Yeng Guiao.

The D-League Finals MVPs meanwhile, are composed of Cignal-Ateneo’s Thirdy Ravena (Aspirant’s Cup) and Hessed Gabo of BRT-Sumisip Basilan-St. Clare (Foundation Cup).

Other awards to be given are the Game of the Season, All-Rookie Team, Mr. Quality Minutes, Defensive Player of the Year, President’s award, and the Danny Floro Executive of the Year.

Highlight of the night is the naming of the Virgilio ‘Baby’ Dalupan Coach of the Year, named after the great late ‘Maestro’ of local basketball.

READ  OCR Pilipinas completes six SEAG gold sweep

San Miguel Beer’s Leo Austria and Tim Cone of Barangay Ginebra are disputing the coveted trophy.