Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


DENR Warriors look to close out UNTV Cup Finals

Newcomer Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) hopes to write a piece of history when it goes for a sweep of the UNTV Cup Finals against defending champion Armed Forces of the Philippines before an expected huge crowd at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

No team since its inaugural staging eight years ago has a team winning the championship and that will be the mission of the DENR Warriors when they clash with the AFP Cavaliers in Game 2 of their best-of-three title series starting at 8 p.m.

The Warriors took the opener, 90-73, on March 1 with Ralph Lansang once again leading the team’s onslaught against an injury-stricken Cavaliers.

Four other DENR players – MVP candidate Ed Rivera, Ryan Abanes, Desederio Ayson, and Melvin Bangal – tallied in doubles figures for the Warriors who shot impressively from the field, making 31 of 62 tries for 50 percent shooting clip.

While veteran Eugene Tan is expected to play despite a knee injury, the Cavaliers will again miss the services of two hardworking bigs in Wilfredo Casulla and Jeffrey Quiambao due to various injuries.

IF DENR goes on to complete a two-game sweep, its chosen charity stands to receive a tax-free P4 million prize from UNTV President and CEO Dr. Daniel S. Razon in the event sponsored by Bro. Eli Soriano of Ang Dating Daan and Members Church of God International.

A total of P10 million cash prizes will be donated to all charities.

Telecast and social media broadcasts of the event for public servants begin at 9 p.m. at UNTV channels.

#ReadMore  AFP, DENR arrange UNTV Cup title showdown

Prior to the AFP-DENR tussle, the semis of the 3×3 side event will be played starting at 7 p.m. Disputing the P100,000 top prize are PhilHealth, SSS Kabalikat, Ombudsman and PITC.

At 4 p.m. PhilHealth will also be setting up an information desk for all PhilHealth insurance and membership concerns. The PAG-IBIG Fund will also be there with info desk and online verification of membership.

Awesome entertainment will be provided by artists like Darren Espanto, Gidget Dela Llana, Magnus Haven, Skusta Clee and BMPI’s The Wishfuls, and Rhea Basco.

Individual excellence will also be recognized through the following awards: Season MVP, Finals MVP, Scoring Champion, Step Up Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, and First Five.

Written By

You May Also Like


Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) completed its own Cinderella story, sweeping Armed Forces of the Philippines in their best-of-three title series to...


Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) found an opportunity to strike early and wasted no time clobbering the injury-hit defending champion Armed Forces...


Expect a fierce duel as Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) and Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) start their best-of-three title series...


Team Celebrity rode on the red-hot shooting of Rayver Cruz and surprised the selection of PBA Legends and UNTV players, 102-101, in the Wish...


Allan Caidic and Johnny Abarrientos will spearhead a selection of PBA legends and current UNTV players who will play against a celebrity team in...


Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) and Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) swept their respective semis series over the weekend and arranged...


Malacañang-Philippine Sports Commission pulled off another come-from-behind win, this time nipping National Housing Authority (NHA), 77-76, in Group II elims of the 8th UNTV...


Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) debuted triumphantly while National Housing Authority and Ombudsman scored contrasting wins in the 8th UNTV Cup held...