Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times

Beach Volleyball

Creamline’s SiPons dominates BVR Leg 2 pool play

SANTA ANA, Cagayan — Creamline 1’s Sisi Rondina made quick work of Black Mamba Army 2’s Jem Gutierrez and Audrey Paran, 21-8, 21-5, to become women’s Pool A winners in the BVR on Tour second leg Friday here.

The “SiPons” tandem swept all of their four matches in pool play to remain on course for a second straight championship in the bubble.

Durable as ever, Rondina and Pons beat Delimondo’s MJ Ebro and Bianca Lizares in straight-sets, 21-8, 21-10, in the morning session.

Creamline 2’s Dij Rodriguez and Dzi Gervacio moved closer in sweeping Pool B by trouncing Toyota Tuguegarao’s Nicole Tiamzon and Jho Maraguinot, 21-13, 21-19. The Cool Smashers’ second team, third placers in the first leg, are also unbeaten in four matches.

2021-BVR-on-Tour-Creamline-Dzi-Gervacio-2 Creamline's SiPons dominates BVR Leg 2 pool play Beach Volleyball BVR News  - philippine sports news

Rodriguez and Gervacio opened the day with a 21-12, 21-14 romp of Eastern Perlas Spikers’ Mich Morente and Jules Samonte.

PLDT’s Ella and Iza Viray moved to second place in Pool B at 3-1 following a 21-7, 21-18 victory over Toyota Tuguegarao’s Nicole Tiamzon and Jho Maraguinot; and 21-9, 21-16 tripping of Sta. Lucia 2’s Bang Pineda and Chay Troncoso.

Pineda and Troncoso earlier roared back from a 0-5 deficit in the deciding set to outlast Black Mamba Army 1’s Nene Bautista and Jeannie Delos Reyes, 19-21, 21-13, 15-10. They fell to 2-2 card.

Bautista and Delos Reyes rebounded in the afternoon with a 21-18, 21-11 win over Morente and Samonte to also post a 2-2 slate.

Sta. Lucia 1’s Jackie Estoquia and DM Demontaño used a strong 9-2 third set start en route to a 21-18, 16-21, 15-10 victory over Biogenic’s Roma Joy Doromal and Heather Guino-o. That raised their record to 2-1 in Pool A in the second spot.

#ReadMore  Creamline beefs up with Michele Gumabao, Melissa Gohing

Doromal and Guino-o failed to follow up their 21-16, 21-18 victory over Gutierrez and Paran. They drop to 1-2 in a tie with Ebro and Lizares in third place.

2021-BVR-on-Tour-Creamline-Jude-Garcia-1 Creamline's SiPons dominates BVR Leg 2 pool play Beach Volleyball BVR News  - philippine sports news

In men’s action, Creamline 1’s Jude Garcia and Krung Arbasto, also vying for a back-to-back title romp, swept DeliRush 2’s Nichol Jundana and Jeffer Guerrero, 21-14, 21-10 and Army 1’s Joel Villonson and Randy Fallorina, 21-10, 21-11, to stay perfect in three Pool B matches.

EVI Construction’s Doy Barrica and KR Guzman kept within reach of the first leg champions following a 21-9, 21-15 win over Orchard Fresh’s Rhenze Hu and Benjaylo Labide, and a 21-15, 21-15 victory over Jundana and Guerrero for a 3-1 slate.

Tuguegarao’s James Pecaña and AJ Pareja got back at first leg tormentor Negros Occidental Beach Volleyball Club’s Deanne Neil de Pedro and Eljhay Ronquillo, 21-17, 14-21, 15-11, and later took the Pool A lead at 3-0 following a 24-26, 21-13, 15-11 decision of DeliRush 1’s Evan Laraya and Joven Camaganakan.

De Pedro and Ronquillo bounced back with an 18-21, 25-23, 15-12 victory over Creamline 2’s Ranran Abdilla and Romnick Rico for a 2-1 slate.

Abdilla and Rico, who barged into the win column following a 21-19, 21-19 victory over Army 2’s Jason Uy and Josh Barrica, slipped to 1-3.

The BVR on Tour Santa Ana is sponsored by Puso Pilipinas, Smart Sports, Santa Ana LGU, Tuguegarao LGU, Board Member Aj Ponce, Congressman Junjun Nolasco, TikTok Philippines, EVI Construction, Savepoint Plus, Xentro Mall, Toyota Tuguegarao, Ibuprofen Paracetamol Alaxan FR, Summit Natural Drinking Water, Enervon and Enervon Activ, and supported by the Philippine National Volleyball Federation.

Written By

You May Also Like


Two foreign teams packing power and class bring their act to the Premier Volleyball League, eager and ready to slug it out with the...

Beach Volleyball

Representing the country is the be-all goal of every athlete, most especially if you are an elite one. Sometimes, though, even such an elite...


Troy Rosario was not able to rejoin TNT immediately after his tour of duty with Gilas Pilipinas in the 31st Southeast Asian Games in...

Beach Volleyball

University of Santo Tomas ruled the UAAP men’s beach volleyball tournament for the third straight season following a 28-26, 21-15 conquest of National University...


University of Santo Tomas and National University conquered their Final Four foes to advance to the UAAP Season 84 men’s beach volleyball championship Saturday...


National University and University of Santo Tomas cruised past their respective foes to secure the two twice-to-beat slots in the UAAP Season 84 men’s...

Beach Volleyball

When rivalries turn into partnerships, especially for something way bigger than themselves, it usually brings out the best in both parties. And none bigger...


De La Salle University became the first team to enter the UAAP Season 84 men’s beach volleyball Final Four as Noel Kampton and Vince...