Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times

2021 SEA Games

BAE broken up as Bagunas, Espejo lead 40-man men’s vball tryout pool

The core of the silver medal-winning Southeast Asian Games team will return for the upcoming men’s national volleyball team organized by the Philippine National Volleyball Federation.

The tryouts for the men’s side is on April 29 at Subic Gym.

Headlining the squad is the duo of Bryan Bagunas of Oita Miyoshi/Air Force and Marck Espejo of Bani Jamra/Cignal.

Also set to return are Mark Alfafara (PLDT), John Vic De Guzman (PLDT), Rex Intal (Cignal), Kim Malabunga (Air Force), Francis Saura (Air Force), Jack Kalingking (Navy), Jessie Lopez (Air Force), Ricky Marcos (Air Force), Ish Polvorosa (Cignal), Joshua Retamar (NU), and Joshua Umandal (UST).

However, Ranran Abdilla, the third member of the BAE trio, will not be part of the indoor team as he was invited to the men’s beach volleyball team.

“The PNVF is currently prioritizing its elite/high-performance initiatives through the National Team Commission,” President Tats Suzara said. “The national team will be focusing on the 31st Southeast Asian Games in Hanoi in December.”

Kim Dayadante of Air Force joins the setters of the team while libero Manuel Sumanguid of Cignal is also part of the pool.

Also invited are outside hitters Dan Garnica (USPF), Alden Cabaron (SWU), John Ashley Jacob (University of Mindanao-Davao), Nico Almendras (NU), Noel Kampton (DLSU), Leo Aringo (NU), Louie Ramirez (Perpetual), Alche Gupiteo (UST), Jian Matthew Salarzon (Bacolod), and Jomar Candelario (UB).

Other middle blockers for the squad are John Edward Carascal (SWU), Nilo Jasmin Jr. (SWU), Chumson Njigha Jr. (Ateneo), JP Bugaoan (Cignal), Lloyd Josafat (UE/PLDT), Anthony Ekwenugo (USC), Kharyl Parce (NU), Rayver Sison (Davao), and Leo Ordiales (NU).

#ReadMore  La Salle bombards injury-riddled UP in 4th, keeps F4 hopes alive

Completing the squad are Ysay Marasigan (Cignal), Mark Enciso (IEM), Joeven dela Vega (Navy), Jao Umandal (PLDT), Banjo Mondero (NU), John Mark Ronquillo (DLSU), and Leodie Vitente (SLU).

The team’s head coach is Dante Alinsunurin.

The athletes, coaches, organizers, and officials involved in the will undergo RT-PCR tests 48 hours before the tryouts with a guaranteed turnaround time of 24 hours.

“These tryouts are needed in order for the athletes to be at their optimal condition prior to key competition events this year,” Suzara said.

Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like

Beach Volleyball

The Philippine National Volleyball Federation (PNVF) and leading biscuit company Republic Biscuit Corp. or Rebisco sealed on Tuesday a three-year sponsorship agreement to support...

2020 Tokyo Olympics

The Philippine national beach volleyball teams left for Thailand on Sunday to compete in the Asian Volleyball Confederation (AVC) Continental Cup, an Olympic qualifying...

2021 AVC Women's Championship

The Philippine National Volleyball Federation (PNVF) plans to stage a bubble training for both the men’s and women’s indoor national teams in Ilocos Norte....

2021 AVC Women's Championship

Philippine National Volleyball Federation president Tats Suzara took a firm stance last April regarding players’ inclusion in the national team. 16 players attended the...

2021 SEA Games

Lloyd Josafat has never represented the Philippines in any international tournaments to date. But this time, he has a chance to do so as...


Philippine National Volleyball Federation (PNVF) President Ramon “Tats” Suzara was elected secretary of the International Volleyball Federation’s (FIVB) newly-formed Volleyball Empowerment Commission for the...


Manuel Sumanguid and Ateneo have had countless battles with National University back in the UAAP.  The 5-foot-7 libero has won two championships with Ateneo...


When she returned to the country last month, Jaja Santiago revealed that Ageo Medics looks to sponsor her naturalization to become a Japanese citizen....