Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Ateneo, UP end each other’s four-game winning streaks with thrilling draw

The two hottest teams right now in the UAAP Season 81 Men’s Football Tournament were simply too good to lose.

Ninety minutes proved insufficient, as the Ateneo de Manila University Blue Eagles and the University of the Philippines Fighting Maroons fought out a 1-1 stalemate, Sunday morning at the FEU-Diliman turf.

“Of course, I’m happy because both teams showed yung character (nila). They want the three points but in the end, at least we go home with one point, so we’re happy na rin sa result na ‘to,” said Ateneo mentor Jay Pee Merida.

The two Quezon City-based schools managed to score early goals to set the tone for the contest. UP skipper Kintaro Miyagi first shot past Ateneo goalie Jae Arcilla five minutes into the game. Rupert Baña then leveled the contest in the 9th minute.

When the second half started, Ateneo and UP immediately tried to get on the scoresheet again. Ateneans Julian Roxas and Mark Nacional missed the target, while Arcilla performed a routine stop against State U’s Karl Bugayong.

Ultimately, it came down to which team would fold in the game’s final stages. The Fighting Maroons had a golden opportunity late in the game to regain the lead with a free kick; unfortunately, JB Borlongan shot it over Arcilla’s bar.

Similarly, Blue Eagle substitute Jabez Setters had a last-minute sniff at goal, but Fighting Maroons goalie Anton Yared caught his attempt.

“We didn’t play a good first half. We weren’t able to adjust right away to Ateneo’s pressing. I thought we did better in the second half. We were able to build up better and create more scoring opportunities,” said UP coach Anto Gonzales.

“We had a few good chances in the end but we weren’t able to convert those chances.”

Both schools resume their respective campaigns after the Holy Week break. Ateneo (23 points) face the University of Santo Tomas on April 25, 2019, 9:00 AM. Meanwhile, UP (20 points) play the Far Eastern University three days later at 3:30 PM. FEU-Diliman will continue to host the games.

ADMU XI: Arcilla (GK), Baña, Gayoso, Herrera, Maniquis, Mercado, Nacional, Poe, Rocha, Roque, Roxas ©.

#ReadMore  Despite going scoreless, Fajardo pleased with Beermen's 4-0 slate

UP XI: Abraham, Borlongan, Bugayong, Clarino, Facturanan, Guarina, Magdato, Miyagi (C), Saavedra, Sanciangco, Yared (GK).

Written By

Lorenzo's a frustrated author who knows a thing or two about Football and Basketball. Went all green from Ortigas to Taft. Supports Liverpool FC, FC Bayern Munich and the Alaska Aces

You May Also Like


It will be a mix of young stars and veterans for the Philippine Men’s National Football Team as it looks to redeem itself in...


Jarvey Gayoso scored the winner as Kaya-Iloilo successfully defended home soil to take a major 2-1 victory over United City in the 2022-2023 Philippines...


Dynamic Herb Cebu went to the top of the 2022-2023 Philippines Football League standings after a 3-3 draw against United City, Saturday, at the...


Dynamic Herb Cebu extended its winning streak to four matches to climb to first place in the 2022-2023 Philippines Football League table courtesy of...


Chima Uzoka produced his second brace of the 2022-2023 Philippines Football League season as Dynamic Herb Cebu came back from a goal down to...


Kaya-Iloilo bucked a lack of personnel to strengthen its hold on the top spot in the 2022-2023 Philippines Football League after a 3-0 win...


Jarvey Gayoso caught fire as Kaya-Iloilo enjoyed a 4-1 win over Maharlika Manila in the 2022-2023 Philippines Football League, Saturday afternoon, at the Rizal...


JB Borlongan struck near the death to help Dynamic Herb Cebu seal a 1-1 stalemate against defending champions United City in the 2022-23 Philippines...