Connect with us


Army turns back Foton for inagural PSL win



Tiebreaker Times Army turns back Foton for inagural PSL win News PSL Volleyball  Royse Tubino RC Cola Army Lady Troopers Patty Orendain Michelle Carolino Maika Ortiz Jovelyn Gonzaga Foton Toplander Danna Henson Angeli Araneta 2016 PSL Invitational Cup

Three-time league champions RC Cola Army Lady Troopers swept the Grand Prix champions Foton Toplander 25-17, 25-9, 25-22 in the opening day of the Philippine Superliga Invitational at the FilOil Flying V Centre, earlier today.

The Lady Troopers’ starters dominated the first two sets. They turned a 10-all tie in thr first set turned into a 17-10 Army lead after Rachel Daquis caught fire. Army took all their momentum into the second set and buried Foton in an 11-0 hole thanks to serves from setter Sarah Gonzales.

Having won the first two sets handily, Army opted to give their bench players more playing time in the third set. A rejuvenated Foton came alive and were always within two points of the Lady Troopers. Leading by just one, 23-22, Army veterans Gonzales and Michelle Carolino scored Army’s winnig points.

“Mas ine-expect namin na mas mahaba ‘yung laro pero binigyan pa rin kami ng Foton nang magandang laro. Mahaba pa ‘yung season,” said Army head coach Kungfu Reyes. Every PSL conference that the Lady Troopers joined, they took the championship.

Former NCAA MVP Royse Tubino towed the Lady Troopers with 11 points, team captain, Jovelyn Gonzaga managed nine markers while Rachel Daquis finished with seven points.

Open hitter Patty Orendain led the Toplander with nine points Danna Henson and Maika Ortiz contributed five points each.

Both teams will have their next match on Saturday at Malolos Bulacan. The Lady Troopers will take on the F2 Logistics Cargo Movers while Foton will face the New San Jose Builders.

READ  Sacrifices of Enforcers paying off says Pacquiao

The Scores

Army (3) – Tubino 11, Gonzaga 9, Daquis 7, Carolino 5, Gonzales 4, Bunag 3, Salak 3, Bautista 3, Sabas 1, Agno (L)

Foton (0) – Orendain 9, Henson 5, Ortiz 5, Araneta 4, Dawson 3, Dimaculangan 2, Salamagos 1, Bulan 0, Tianco 0, Macatuno 0, Acevedo (L), Tabaquero (L)

Miguel Luis Flores fell face first into sports writing in high sch9l and has never gotten up. He reluctantly stumbled into the volleyball beat when he started with Tiebreaker Times three years ago. Now, he has waded through everything volleyball - from its icky politics to the post-modern art that is Jia Morado's setting.