Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


San Beda picks up first win at UP’s expense

After a decent showing against the Ateneo de Manila University Blue Eagles last Wednesday, the San Beda College Red Spikers rode the momentum they had gained, sweeping the University of the Philippines Fighting Maroons, 25-22, 25-22, 25-19, Monday morning at the Filoil Flying V Centre in San Juan City.

San Beda notched their first win in the 2017 Men’s Collegiate Conference, going up to 1-2. UP, on the other hand, dropped to 1-2.

Former UST Tiger Spiker Jomaru Amagan paced San Beda with 14 points, all on spikes with a 51.85 percent efficiency. Mark Enciso added 13 markers on an equally efficient 50 percent accuracy.

And in all three sets, the Red Spikers were able to break away in the middle parts of each frame against the undermanned Fighting Maroons. However, UP struggled to find the hole, especially in the end of each set.

Limuel Patenio added 12 markers for San Beda, while JC Desuyo tossed 29 excellent sets.

UP skipper Wendel Miguel led his team with 19 markers, while Nicolo Consuelo chipped in 10 points.

San Beda will next face the De La Salle University Green Spikers on Saturday, September 16, at 8:00am. Meanwhile, UP take on neighbors Ateneo Blue Eagles on the same day at 10:00am.

The Scores:

SBC 3 – Amagan 14, Enciso 13, Patenio 12, Santos 5, Zabala 5, Desuyo 2, Manliclic 2, Viray 1, Gonzales 0, Genobaten 0, Casin (L).

UP 0 – Miguel 19, Consuelo 10, San Pedro 6, Acuna 4, Gohoc 2, Ijiran 1, Madrigalejos (L), Nasol (L).

#ReadMore  Despite not being on initial list, Denden Lazaro still shows desire to represent the country
Written By

You May Also Like


After waiting for almost three years, Cignal finally got the chance to kickstart its Spikers’ Turf Open Conference title-retention bid via a 25-17, 25-15,...


University of Santo Tomas and National University conquered their Final Four foes to advance to the UAAP Season 84 men’s beach volleyball championship Saturday...


National University and University of Santo Tomas cruised past their respective foes to secure the two twice-to-beat slots in the UAAP Season 84 men’s...


De La Salle University became the first team to enter the UAAP Season 84 men’s beach volleyball Final Four as Noel Kampton and Vince...


University of Santo Tomas dealt Ateneo its first loss of the UAAP Season 84 men’s beach volleyball tournament as Efraem Dimaculangan and Rancel Varga...


National University’s James Buytrago and Pol Salvador overcame University of Santo Tomas’ Efraem Dimaculangan and Rancel Varga, 12-21, 21-17, 15-12, in an exciting opening...


University of Santo Tomas sets in motion its bid for a record sixth men’s championship against National University as the UAAP Season 84 beach...


The men showed up almost in full force on Day 2 of the Philippine National Volleyball Team tryouts at the Subic Gym,  Thursday.  Each...