Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Beach Volleyball

UST’s Krung Arbasto-Jaron Requinto snatches UAAP crown, drubs FEU

The University Santo Tomas’ Krung Arbasto and Jaron Requinton regained a lost crown, overthrowing Season 81 powerhouse Far Eastern University’s Jude Garcia, Kevin Hadlocon, and Richard Solis in Game Two of the UAAP Men’s Beach Volleyball Finals, 21-12, 22-24, 15-10.

The Tiger Spikers shocked the erstwhile undefeated Tamaraws in Game One (21-14, 21-16). Game Two featured a dominant opening flurry from the Tigers, forcing FEU to sub out Hadlocon for Richard Solis.

The Tamaraws mustered a strong challenge in the second set, grabbing a 17-13 lead before UST rallied back and gained two championship points, 18-20. Back-to-back scores from Garcia extended the set to a tight deuce, which he also ended with two straight attacks.

The decider started tight before UST slowly pulled away and built a 13-8 wall. Arbasto tipped a ball to the far side before Requinton slid an attack to the line for the win.

UST last won the title in Season 79. Arbasto leaves the UAAP sandcourts with two titles.

Written By

Miguel Luis Flores fell face first into sports writing in high sch9l and has never gotten up. He reluctantly stumbled into the volleyball beat when he started with Tiebreaker Times three years ago. Now, he has waded through everything volleyball - from its icky politics to the post-modern art that is Jia Morado's setting.

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


Anton Asistio feels honored to have had Jai Reyes as a teammate in Bataan during the early goings of the 2019-20 Chooks-to-Go Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball...


Super seniors who could not play during the University Athletic Association of the Philippines’ 82nd season will have another shot at glory.  The league’s...

3x3 Basketball

No one will be left behind.  The 1,214 student-athletes unable to play their events during UAAP Season 82 will receive honorary medals by the...


What would have happened if Ben Mbala played out his final year of eligibility with La Salle? Would have he stopped the current Ateneo...