Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


UP goes back-to-back with Adamson sweep

The University of the Philippines only needed a little more than an hour to seal their second straight win in the UAAP Season 80 men’s badminton tournament.

Playing relaxed yet focused, last year’s third-placers zoomed to a dominant sweep of the Adamson University Soaring Falcons, 5-0, Saturday morning at the Rizal Memorial Badminton Hall.

Team captain CK Clemente admitted that, “Steady lang yung team ngayon. We need to conserve energy kasi mabigat yung kalaban bukas.”

That no-pressure attitude was productive to say the least as JM Bernardo continued his unscathed singles record, disposing Johnrick Macabenta, 21-13, 21-14. Even co-skipper Vinci Manuel got his rhythm going, taking care of the dangerous Kevin Fabros with a scoreline of 21-18, 21-12.

Manuel’s good showing was a welcome development for the team, Clemente shared. “Important every game kasi ‘di lang naman sa panalo ng team nag babase yung tournament pati sa points.

“So para sa’kin we need to earn every game, every point,” he asserted.

Roberto Pineda and Paul Gonzales then pocketed the win for the men from Diliman, dragging down Macabenta and Joshua Antonio at 21-10, 21-17.

The UP captain and Bernardo made it four-of-four, winning over Fabros and Elben Concha at 21-10, 21-18. Afterwards, Garreth Dizer made his UAAP debut count, sweeping Concha, 21-17, 21-19.

The opposition Clemente was referring to is the fellow 3-1 Ateneo de Manila University Blue Eagles. On their part, the Falcons (0-5) will try to end their season with a win when they face the University of Santo Tomas Golden Shuttlers (0-4). Both ties will happen on Sunday, October 1 at 8am.

#ReadMore  Bea Tan-Dij Rodriguez duo, Doromal sisters take early lead in BVR: Puerto Galera

Grew to appreciate various sports from tennis to judo. True-maroon kiddo since the new millennium. Fanboy. Singer. Occasional sports writer.

You May Also Like


After ending National University’s 60-tie winning streak last Wednesday, Ateneo de Manila University made sure to finish the job four days later. Behind a...


NATIONAL University relied on its doubles pairs before Mark Velasco dominated in the decider to complete a massive 3-2 reverse sweep of University of...


The longest active winning streak in the UAAP has been broken. Ateneo de Manila University halted the run of the reigning seven-time UAAP Men’s...


National University extended the UAAP’s longest current winning streak to 60 by defeating fellow semifinalist University of the Philippines, 3-2, on Sunday at the...


Defending, seven-time champion National University and University of the Philippines turned down their respective foes to secure two of the Final Four berths in...


University of the Philippines secured a share of the lead in the UAAP Season 86 Men’s Badminton tournament after clinching a 3-2 victory over...


Seven-time defending champion National University initiated its title defense with a dominant 5-0 sweep of Adamson University on the opening day of the UAAP...


University of the Philippines secured back-to-back titles in rousing fashion, sweeping all its assignments in the 2nd SMART Philippine Intercollegiate Badminton Championships on Saturday...