Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Taganas, Teng lead North reserves, Pasaol, Anderson headline South in MPBL All-Star

North All-Stars coach Randy Alcantara and South All-Stars tactician Don Dulay have picked their reserves in the 2019-20 Chooks-to-Go MPBL Lakan All-Star game.

The all-star festivities take place on Thursday, February 13 at the SM Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City. The activities begin at 3:00 pm.

In the Northern division, crowd favorite JR Taganas (Bulacan) alongside Mark Benitez (Rizal-Xentro Mall) will man the paint together with starting center Alfred Batino (Bataan-Camaya Coast).

Meanwhile, in the South, Rob Celiz of GenSan-Burlington and Pari Llagas of Sarangani will help starter Will McAloney in controlling the paint.

Jeric Teng of Pasig-Sta. Lucia, Paulo Hubalde of Valenzuela-Carga Backload Solutions and Marwin Taywan of Navotas-Uni Pak Sardines will join the backcourt of the North.

Celebrity baller Gerald Anderson (Imus-Luxxe Slim), GJ Ylagan (Muntinlupa-Angelis Resort), Paolo Javelona (Bacolod-Master Sardines), Rodel Vaygan (Mindoro), Allan Mangahas (Biñan-Luxxe White) and Ronjay Buenafe (Bicol-LCC Stores)will reinforce the guard-heavy South.

Completing the North reserves are Makati-Super Crunch’s Cedric Ablaza, Pasay’s Dhon Reverente, Caloocan-Victory Liner’s Paul Sanga, Quezon City-WEMSAP’s Clark Derige and Parañaque’s Jayboy Solis.

Rounding up the South are forwards Richard Escoto of Iloilo and Alvin Pasaol of Zamboanga Family’s Brand Sardines.

Before the All-Star Game, the top 11 marksmen will compete in the three-point shootout, headlined by Datu Season three-point shootout runner-up John Wilson of Go for Gold-San Juan.

Joining Wilson are Anton Asistio and Robin Rono of Zamboanga; Mikee Cabahug of Novotas; Mark Pangilinan and Rocky Acidre of Bacoor; Jerome Garcia of Bicol; Jordan Rios of Rizal; Rhaffy Octobre of Cebu; Lester Alvarez of Bulacan; and James Martinez of Nueva Ecija.

#ReadMore  Kai Sotto tops FIBA's list of Asian U18 prospects
Written By

You May Also Like


PBA Season 47 MVP frontrunners June Mar Fajardo and Scottie Thompson are also leading the first fan returns of the All-Star voting Wednesday. The...


San Juan added Quezon City to the list of its victims in what is fast turning out to be a promising title bid, while...


ANTIPOLO – Mikey Williams came alive as TNT came back from 18 down and frustrated Rain or Shine, 105-100, to continue their winning ways...


Stung the last time out, defending champion Davao Occidental-Cocolife vented its ire on Sta. Rosa Laguna, scoring an 82-68 drubbing last Wednesday in the...


JL Delos Santos’ all-around effort powered Koponang Lakan ng Bulacan to a 94-80 whipping of Bicol last Monday night for its second straight win...


Meralco spoiled James Yap’s return after routing Rain or Shine, 105-87, in the PBA Governors’ Cup opener, Sunday at the Philsports Arena in Pasig....


This duel proved why games are won on the hardcourt and not on paper. Proving steadier when it mattered most, Cagayan de Oro-PSP stunned...


Defending champion Davao Occidental-Cocolife did just enough to fend off a late charge by Caloocan, hacking out a 67-61 decision for its seventh straight...