Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


San Beda-Lyceum clash to cap NCAA 97 opening day on primetime

A celebration of stars from the entertainment and amateur sports will be the theme of NCAA Season 97’s opening day.

After an hour-long opening ceremony that will feature the brightest stars of GMA 7, Colegio de San Juan de Letran opens its title defense campaign against College of Saint Benilde at 3:30 PM at La Salle Green Hills.

Then at 7:00 PM, San Beda University will face Lyceum of the Philippines University.

“For two years, we’ve been waiting for contact sports to return, and we’re excited to have basketball and volleyball games back,” said NCAA Season 97 chairman Dax Castellano. “And for this year, we continue to hold online chess and online taekwondo tournaments.

“The preparations are still very challenging with the pandemic situation, but with the support of GMA, I know this will be a successful season.”

For the rest of the single round robin, elimination round, games will be held at 12:00 NN and 3:00 PM every Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday, and Sunday

San Sebastian College-Recoletos and Arellano University face off to open their campaign on Sunday, March 27 at 12 followed by Mapua University versus Emilio Aguinaldo College at 3 PM.

The last to make their season debut are Jose Rizal University and University of Perpetual Help System DALTA on March 29 at 12:00NN.

The finals rematch between the Knights and the Red Lions will happen on April 12 at 12:000 NN.

The rest of the schedule is as follows:

March 29, Tuesday
3:00PM: LPU vs CSB

March 30, Wednesday
12:00NN: AU vs CSJL
3:00PM: EAC vs SBU

April 1, Friday
12:00NN: UPHSD vs SSCR
3:00PM: JRU vs MU

April 2, Saturday
12:00NN: CSB vs AU
3:00PM: LPU vs EAC

April 3, Sunday
12:00NN: CSJL vs UPHSD
3:00PM: SBU vs JRU

April 5, Tuesday
12:00NN: SSCR vs MU
3:00PM: EAC vs CSB

April 6, Wednesday
12:00NN: UPHSD vs AU
3:00PM: JRU vs LPU

April 8, Friday
12:00NN: MU vs CSJL
3:00PM: SSCR vs SBU

April 9, Saturday
12:00NN: CSB vs UPHSD
3:00PM: EAC vs JRU

April 10, Sunday
12:00NN: AU vs MU
3:00PM: LPU vs SSCR

April 12, Tuesday
12:00NN: CSJL vs SBU
3:00PM: JRU vs CSB

April 13, Wednesday
12:00NN: MU vs UPHSD
3:00PM: SSCR vs EAC

April 17, Sunday
12:00NN: SBU vs AU
3:00PM: CSJL vs LPU

April 19, Tuesday
12:00NN: CSB vs MU
3:00PM: JRU vs SSCR

April 20, Wednesday
12:00NN: UPHSD vs SBU
3:00PM: EAC vs CSJL

April 22, Friday
12:00NN: AU vs LPU
3:00PM: SSCR vs CSB

April 23, Saturday
12:00NN: SBU vs MU
3:00PM: CSJL vs JRU

April 24, Sunday
12:00NN: LPU vs UPHSD
3:00PM: AU vs EAC

April 26, Tuesday
12:00NN: CSB vs SBU
3:00PM: SSCR vs CSJL

April 27, Wednesday
12:00NN: MU vs LPU
3:00PM: JRU vs AU

April 29, Friday
12:00NN: UPHSD vs EAC

The top two teams after the elimination round will advance to the final four and will hold a twice-to-beat advantage.

#ReadMore  Basilan completes 10-game sweep of VisMin-Mindanao

The next four teams in the standings will figure in a play-in on May 1 with the third and fourth ranked squads battling it out for the third seed. The fifth and sixth ranked teams will fight it out in a knockout game.

Then on May 3, the loser of the third seed game and the winner of the KO match will square off for the fourth seed.

The finals will still be a best-of-three.

Written By

You May Also Like


As his best friend since their UAAP days with University of Santo Tomas, Brent Paraiso wishes Rhenz Abando all the best in achieving his...


Neil Guarino carried the undermanned Colegio de San Juan de Letran team to a thrilling 72-70 victory over Far Eastern University to notch their...


De La Salle University used a huge second-quarter surge to down Lyceum of the Philippines University, 88-65, to stay unbeaten in Group B of...


Reigning UAAP champion University of the Philippines and National University blasted their respective rivals to complete a five-game sweep of their group elims in...


College of St. Benilde ended University of the East’s winning streak with a 72-63 victory in the 2022 FilOil EcoOil Preseason Cup, Sunday in...


Cedrick Manzano powered Adamson University to a dominant 85-69 win over Mapua University to get back in the win column in Group A action...


By: Anton Guarina University of the Philippines cruised to its fifth consecutive win in the 2022 Filoil EcoOil Preseason Cup’s Group A, romping Emilio...


Robi Nayve had himself a game against University of Perpetual Help in the 2022 Filoil Ecooil Preseason Cup on Friday. The 5-foot-10 guard shot...