Connect with us

Rosario powers Arellano in triumph over University of Batangas



Reigning NCAA champion Arellano University Lady Chiefs overwhelmed the University of Batangas (UB) Lady Brahmans 25-4, 25-23, 25-16 in the Shakeys V-League Collegiate Conference at the FilOil Flying V Arena, Saturday afternoon.

The Lady Chiefs purely dominated the first set with Christine Rosario and Menchie Tubiera, leading the Arellano offense in punishing the Lady Brahmans. In the second set the University of Batangas capitalized on the relaxed mood of the Chiefs, but Arellano was able to stabilize in time to take the set.

In the third set the Lady Chiefs got themselves back in track against the Lady Brahmans, making the necessary adjustments to stop the upset minded University of Batangas.

Arellano outclassed UB in almost every category, netting more points via spikes, 44-21, as well as notching 32 excellent digs compared to just 18 by the Lady Brahmans. University of Batangas also committed more errors than Arellano, 22-14.

After the game Arellano Lady Chiefs Coach Roberto Javier expressed dissatisfaction on how the Lady Chiefs played despite dominating the game.

“Hindi pa rin ako satisified , kasi alam ko ang takbo ng team ko,” said Javier.

Javier was dismayed because he felt his team underestimated the NCAA South champion in this game.

“Sobrang in-underestimate nila. Nag relax sila kaya nangyari ang second set,” Javier added.

Rosario top scored the Lady Chiefs with 12 points while Tubiera and Jovielyn Prado added 10 and nine markers apiece.

Krissa Madalogdog finished with nine points with Kimberly Jamilla and Lalyn Garcia contributed six points respectively.

The Lady Chiefs next assignment is against the University of the Philippines Lady Maroons on August 8 at 3:00PM while the Lady Brahmans will face the Polytechnic University of the Philippines(PUP) Lady Radicals on August 9 at 3:00 PM at the same venue.

The scores:

AU (3) – Rosario 12, Tubiera 10, Prado 9, Henson 8, Aganon 5, Salamagos 4, Carino 2, Mabbayad 1, Ramirez 1, Sagun 0, Legacion 0, Galang (L), Ibasa(L)

UB (0) – Madalogdog 9, Jamilla 6, Garcia 6, Montecer 5, Montenegro 2, Castor 1, Romero 0, Ramirez 0, Tabion (L), Maquinto (L)