Connect with us

Rookie Molde leads young UP to character win against PUP



Rookie Isabel Molde led the University of the Philippines Lady Maroons in a 25-15, 25-14, 25-13 demolition of Polytechnic University of the Philippines Lady Radicals in the Shakeys V-League Collegiate Conference at the FilOil Flying V Arena late Saturday afternoon.

The former Hope Christian High School standout had an all-around game in leading the Lady Maroons as she managed to score over the Lady Radicals floor defense for a 9-4 lead in the second set. She also gathered help from fellow rookies Justine Dorog and Diane Carlos, sophomore player Marian Buitre, and guest player Sheena Chopitea to dispatch the lowly Lady Radicals.

PUP was unable to stop Molde when the rookie scored the Lady Maroons three of first five points in the third set and made her presence felt in scoring an off angle shot to give UP a 16-9 lead on the second technical timeout of third set. The Diliman-based squad never looked back against their Sta. Mesa-based opponents.

Despite having an easy assignment, Lady Maroons Coach Jerry Yee did not let his players be relaxed against the Lady Radicals.“They should motivate on their own, ‘yung ang ating tinatry ituro sa kanila. Hindi pwede puro lagi si Coach lagi ang mag motivate, they had to find something to lift themselves,”Yee said.

Molde finished with 15 points all coming from attacks to led the Lady Maroons while Dorog added 10 markers.

Syra Jane Romo top scored the Lady Radicals with nine points and Guest player Fritz Gallenero contributed seven markers.

The Lady Maroons will next face the University of Batangas Lady Brahmans on July 26 at 12:45 PM while the Lady Radicals next assignment will go against the defending Collegiate conference champion the Far Eastern University Lady Tamaraws a day earlier at 3:00 PM in the same venue.

The Scores:

UP (3) – Molde 15, Dorog 10, Carlos 9, Layug 6, Buitre 5, Alinas 2, Ilustre 2, Ong 2, Cailing 2, Chopitea 2, Basarte 2, Lai 0, Estranero (L), Gaiser (L)

PUP (0) – Romo 9, Gallenero 7, Clemente 4, Ilasco 4, Alvaro 2, Madrinico 1, Quintana 0, Tenorio (L), Rebustillo (L)

Click to comment