Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times

Beach Volleyball

PSL returns with Beach Volleyball Challenge Cup 2016

All roads lead to the Sands SM By The Bay as the Philippine Superliga returns with another edition of the Beach Volleyball Challenge Cup which opens on Saturday, May 7.

The tournament, which started in August last year, brings 14 teams in the women’s division and nine teams in the men’s division this time.

Participating squads in the women’s division are divided into four pools–two with three teams each and another two with four teams each. The top two teams per pool advance to the quarter-finals.

In the men’s division, there are two pools–one with five teams and another with four. The top two squads per pool advance to the semi-finals.

Bannering the women’s division is the pre-tournament top seed duo of Norie Jane Diaz and Pau Soriano (Standard Insurance-Philippine Navy A). Diaz was part of the winning tandem last year, Giligan’s Sisig Queens along with Danika Gendrauli while Soriano took home fourth place along with Bea Tan.

Diaz’s teammate last season, Gendrauli, is now paired with first-timer Aby Marano. Gendrauli and Marano will represent F2 Logistics.

Notable returnees in the tournament include Patty Orendain and April Hingpit, while first-timers like Aiza Maizo-Pontillas, Jovelyn Gonzaga, Nene Bautista, Florence Madulid, Cherry Rondina, Ces Molina, Bang Pineda, Bernadeth Pons, and Princess Listana are set to see action as well.

The tournament has set its play dates on May 7 (Saturday), May 14 (Saturday), May 22 (Sunday), and May 29 (Sunday).


Women’s Division

2016-PSL-Beach-Volley-Womens-Division PSL returns with Beach Volleyball Challenge Cup 2016 Beach Volleyball FEU MIT News PSL UE  - philippine sports news

Pool A

Standard Insurance/Philippine Navy A – Norie Jane Diaz and Pau Soriano
RC Cola/Philippine Army B – Jeannie Delos Reyes and Genie Sabas
UE Lady Warriors – Jasmine Alcayde and Angelica Dacaymat

Pool B

F2 Logistics – Danika Gendrauli and Aby Marano
Petron Sprint 4T – Maica Morada and Ces Molina
Standard Insurance/Philippine Navy B – Florence Madulid and Pauline Genido

Pool C

Foton – Cherry Rondina and Patty Orendain
Petron XCS – Bang Pineda and Aiza Maizo-Pontillas
Mapua Lady Cardinals – Shaira Hermano and Niella Ramilo
Accel Quantum Plus – Aileen Abuel and Princess Listana

Pool D

#ReadMore  Philippine SuperLiga announces AFC lineups

Meralco – April Ross Hingpit and Jonafer San Pedro
RC Cola/Philippine Army A – Jovelyn Gonzaga and Nerissa Bautista
Cignal Team Awesome – Vhima Condada and Mary Grace Berte
Petron/FEU Lady Tamaraws – Bernadette Pons and Kyla Atienza

Men’s Division

2016-PSL-Beach-Volley-Mens-Division PSL returns with Beach Volleyball Challenge Cup 2016 Beach Volleyball FEU MIT News PSL UE  - philippine sports news

Pool A

Philippine Navy-B – Pajiji Alsali and Milover Parcon
Wayuk – Philip Bagalay and Paul John Cuzon
FEU Tamaraws-A – Joshua Barrica and Jude Garcia
IEM – Arjay Salcedo and Bobby Gartidula
UE Red Warriors – Geric Rodmar Ortega and Ruvince Abrot

Pool B

FEU Tamaraws-B – Rikko Mamerto and Kevin Hadlocon
Cignal Team Awesome – Rey and Reylan Taneo
SM By The Bay – Daniel and Tim Young
Philippine Navy-A – Madsairi Nur-amin and Roldan Medino

Photos by Roman Prospero (PSL Images)

Written By

You May Also Like


Jovelyn Gonzaga’s return to Cignal was announced by the team on Wednesday. Gonzaga’s last appearance in the Premier Volleyball League was in the 2022...


Vanie Gandler has made her decision. The 5-foot-9 outside spiker will play for Cignal in the Premier Volleyball League. “As I enter a new...


UNIVERSITY of Santo Tomas has made it to the UAAP men’s volleyball finals for the first time in 11 years with a 25-18, 25-22,...


Far Eastern University knocked out De La Salle University, 25-21,19-25, 25-22, 25-22, to climb up the UAAP Season 85 men’s volleyball stepladder, Wednesday at...


ADAMSON University sealed the third seed in the UAAP Season 85 women’s volleyball Final Four after fending off Far Eastern University, 25-22, 26-28, 25-15,...


FAR EASTERN University secured the last ticket to the UAAP Season 85 men’s volleyball Final Four after defeating Adamson University, 25-22, 25-14, 26-24, on...


DE LA SALLE University secured a spot in the UAAP Season 85 men’s volleyball Final Four after defeating University of the East in four...


University of the East clipped University of the Philippines in straight sets, 25-21, 25-21, 25-23, for its fifth win in the UAAP Season 85...