Connect with us

PSL Beach Volleyball Challenge Cup groupings released



Coming off a successful All-Filipino conference held from March to May earlier this year, the Philippine Superliga will now venture into a new territory as it is set to open the PSL Beach Volleyball Challenge Cup 2015 presented by PLDT Home Ultera this coming July 18, at the Sands by the Bay.

The 12 teams participating in the women’s division will be divided into four groups. The top two teams in each of the four groups will advance to the crossover quarterfinals round. After the quarterfinals round, the winners from those matches will now advance to the semis round of the tourney.

The surviving teams of the knockout semis clash will then face each other in a winner-takes-all championship match which is scheduled this coming August 8.

“Under this format, we expect that only the best team will survive,” said PSL president Ramon “Tats” Suzara via the league’s official website. “We have a very balanced field. We really can’t predict who will emerge as the inaugural champion as all teams are serious in their respective preparations. This is going to be an exciting battle, not only for the teams, but for the fans as well.”

Now, here are the groupings and updated rosters for the women’s bracket:

Group A

Amy’s – Len Cortel and Samantha Dawson
Quantum Plus Team A – Evangeline Pastor and Kim Ygay
Philips Gold – Aileen Abuel and Rossan Fajardo

Group B

Petron XCS – Gretchen Ho and Charo Soriano
Quantum Plus B – Tripoli Aurora and Rochet Dela Paz
Cignal HD Spikers B – Wensh Tiu and April Rose Hingpit

Group C

Beneco – Cindy Benitez and Florence Madulid
Foton Tornadoes – Patty Orendain and Fiola Ceballos
Meralco – Jem Guiterrez and Jusabelle Brillo

Group D

Petron Sprint 4T – Alexa Micek and Fille Cainglet Cayetano
Cignal HD Spikers A – Cha Cruz and Michelle Laborte
Giligan’s – Danica Gendrauli and Norie Jane Diaz
Foton Hurricanes – Pau Soriano and Bea Tan

The tournament will also feature a men’s bracket to complement its women’s division.

“Playing on the sand is way different than playing indoor. So brace yourself because we guarantee that it will be an action-packed tournament from start to finish,” Suzara added.

Here are the grouping for the men’s bracket of the tournament:

Group A

Champion Infinity A – Angelo Espiritu and Nestor Molate
SM By The Bay Team B – Tim Young and Daniel Young
Cignal HD Spikers B – Emmanuel Luces and Jay Dela Cruz
UPHSD Team A – Fernando Alboro and Ronel Del Mundo

Group B

Cignal HD Spikers B – Emmanuel Luces and Jay Dela Cruz
Champion Infinity B – Marjun Alingasa and Jayson Uy
IEM – Michael Conde and Karl Dela Calzada
UPHSD Team B – Emmanuel Gamat and Paolo Alona
SM By The Bay Team A – Jade Becaldo and Hachaliah Gilbuena

The men’s games of the tournament will start at 8:00 am in the morning while its women’s division will start at 2:30 pm in the afternoon.

Click to comment