Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Press Corps to honor Ricky Vargas, PBA Board

The entire PBA Board led by chairman Victorico ‘Ricky’ Vargas gets its due recognition during the silver anniversary celebration of the PBA Press Corps Annual Awards Night on January 21 at the Novotel Manila Araneta Center.

Vargas and the rest of the board will be the recipient of the special President’s Award from the group of sportswriters covering the PBA beat for getting its act together to uphold the spirit of harmony within the league.

Setting aside its differences to work for the common good, the board’s move paved the way for the league to successfully hold its 43rd season.

Aside from Vargas (TnT Katropa), the rest of the board were composed of Vice-Chairman Richard Bachmann (Alaska), Treasurer Atty. Raymond Zorilla (Phoenix), Robert Non (San Miguel), Rene Pardo (Magnolia), Rod Franco (NLEX), Al Panlilio (Meralco), Atty. Mamerto Mondragon (Rain or Shine), Bobby Rosales (Columbian Dyip), Siliman Sy (Blackwater), Alfrancis Chua (Barangay Ginebra), and Eric Arejola (NorthPort).

Vargas, who is also the current president of the Philippine Olympic Committee (POC), will serve as guest speaker during the special rite presented by Cignal TV.

The Board will be joined by other major awardees who are going to be honored in the annual affair now celebrating its 25th year.

Alaska’s Vic Manuel is the recipient of Mr Quality Minutes, Poy Erram of NLEX is the Defensive Player of the Year, with Chris Tiu getting the nod as Breakout Player of the Season.

The Game of the Season goes to the triple overtime match between Barangay Ginebra and Rain or Shine, while NorthPort’s Stanley Pringle will be crowned the year’s scoring champion.

#ReadMore  Kiefer Ravena shocked with Von Pessumal's shove: 'I did not expect that at all'

Jason Perkins of Phoenix leads the All-Rookie team he shares with Jeron Teng (Alaska), Paul Zamar (San Miguel Beer), Christian Standhardinger (San Miguel Beer), and Robbie Herndon (Magnolia), the year’s All-Interview Team is composed of coach Yeng Guiao (NLEX), Chris Ross (San Miguel), Joe Devance (Barangay Ginebra), Mike Digregorio (Blackwater), Standhardinger, and Tiu, while June Mar Fajardo (San Miguel), Paul Lee (Magnolia), and Manuel are the recipients of the Order of Merit honor.

In observance of its 25th year, the PBAPC will be giving out its first ever Lifetime Achievement Award apart from the Danny Floro Executive of the Year, and the centerpiece Virgilio ‘Baby’ Dalupan Coach of the Year Award.

Written By

You May Also Like


Alfrancis Chua denied rumors that the San Miguel Corporation (SMC) is taking over the Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP) soon. “No. That’s not true,”...


The man behind another Ginebra title romp in the PBA Governors Cup will be recognized with one of the major honors at the 2022...


Two of the country’s top sports patrons met on Monday. Manuel V. Pangilinan of Metro Pacific Investments Corporation and Ramon S. Ang of San...


After months of negotiations, Converge and Maverick Ahanmisi finally found their middle ground. The FiberXers have announced that they have signed the 6-foot-2 combo...


With just three days to go before the 47th season of the Philippine Basketball Association formally opens, Converge was finally able to lock up...


The Philippine Basketball Association reiterated its support for Gilas Pilipinas in light of the fiasco that took place in the 31st Southeast Asian Games....


Philippine Basketball Association chairman Ricky Vargas could not help but rue once more about Filipino prospects plying their trades abroad. Just recently, La Salle’s...


Phoenix Super LPG clarified that Matthew Wright is still very much a part of the team and will still see action in the new...