Connect with us
[adinserter block="13"] [adinserter block="3"]

PLDT earns first win at IEM’s expense



The PLDT Home Ultra Fast Hitters finally earned their first win at the Spikers Turf Season One Reinforced conference after thwarting the IEM Volley Masters 25-18, 20-25, 25-15, 25-18 late Saturday afternoon at the FilOil Flying V Arena.

The Ultra Fast Hitters dominated the first set, led by Mark Alfafara and Peter Torres. However, in the second set the Volley Masters turned the table, holding a 16-12 lead in the second technical timeout. Rudy Gatdula and Karl Dela Calzada provided the offensive firepower for IEM as the Ultra Fast Hitters struggled to get back in the set.

In the following set PLDT quickly blasted IEM to establish a 10-5 lead, with Kheeno Franco and Alfafara leading the charge. The Volley Masters played catch-up throughout the set as the Ultra Fast Hitters never gave them a chance to recover, with JP Torres, Peter Torres and Henry Pecana providing additional offensive help for PLDT.

PLDT continued what they started in the fourth set, once again establishing a 16-9 lead with Alfafara leading the charge. Still, IEM had some gas left in the tank as Dela Calzada and Gatdula launched a 6-4 run to cut the lead at 20-16. But Franco Peter Torres and Berlin Paglinawan bailed out the Ultra Fast Hitters down the stretch to finally earned their first win.

“Nasa bingit kami kaya kailangan namin ito maipanalo,” said PLDT coach Odjie Mamon on the importance of winning this game.

Alfafara finished with 13 points, 11 coming from attacks, to lead PLDT while Pecana and Peter Torres contributed 11 markers apiece.

Jeffey Jimenez top scored the Volley Masters with 11 points while Gatdula chipped 10 points, all coming from attacks.

The Ultra Fast Hitters(1-2) will next face the Philippine Navy Sailors(1-0) on November 4 at 3:00 PM while the Volley Masters(0-2) next assignment is against the Cignal HD Spikers(2-1) at 5:00 PM in the same day at the same venue.

The Scores:

PLDT (3) – Alfafara 13, Pecana 12, P.Torres 12, J.Torres 11, Franco 9, Casillan 3, Paglinawan 2, Galang 1, Mangulabnan 0, Mangaring (L), Longavela (L)

IEM (1) – Jimenez 11, Gatdula 10, Dela Calzada 11, Canlas 9, Zamora 7, Timbal 3, Tonquin 1, Ordonez 1, Cerilles 1, Conde 0, Almario(L)

Click to comment