Connect with us
[adinserter block="13"] [adinserter block="3"]

PBA Pass-Through: Guiao disappointed with another lapse in officiating; Chan day-to-day



PBA Pass-Through — April 1, 2015

Updates around the association:

Ginebra trades wing guysAbabou x Forrester

Less than 24 hours after Frankie Lim became the team’s head coach, Barangay Ginebra San Miguel traded away two of its young, talented yet seldom-used wing guys Dylan Ababou and James Forrester.

The Kings will receive a 2015 first rounder from the Barako Bull Energy in the deal. For more, click here: Ababou, Forrester for first rounder: trade recap, analysis, team grades

Jeff Chan day-to-day

Rain or Shine shooting guard Jeff Chan is listed as day-to-day after suffering from pain (Plantar Fasciitis) in Game 1 of the team’s semifinals duel against the Meralco Bolts.

Chan went scoreless in five minutes, missing his only attempt from the field. Fortunately for the Elasto Painters, Jericho Cruz and Jeric Teng combined for 15 points to give the squad a lift.

It hasn’t been an inspiring conference for Chan as well, averaging only 8.8 points per game. Morever, he hasn’t been on target from long range, hitting only 29 percent of his three-point attempts.

Good thing for Chan, the league will have a break in observance of Holy Week before action resumes on Sunday, April 5.

Guiao disappointed with another lapse in officiating

“Again, I think it was an officiating error when Gabe [Norwood] shot the ball and there was no call and the referees corrected the call after the shot has been made,” Guiao quipped of Norwood’s triple that pushed Rain or Shine’s fourth quarter lead up to 10.

The made basket was disallowed seconds after, with the Elasto Painters’ lead brought back to only seven.

“I don’t know if you can make that correction in a ballgame without blowing your whistle. There was no whistle. The buzzer is not a whistle. We are getting confused I guess [with] the officiating. Sayang naman ‘yung series. If the game was close, that would have really mattered a lot.”

The call came days after the PBA announced the league missed a 24-second shot clock violation towards the end of the Elasto Painters’ quarterfinals affair against Ginebra.

It led to a wide-open layup for Chan that eventually sealed the match for Rain or Shine, 92-91. The referee who missed the call was also suspended by the PBA.

The Office of the Commissioner released a full statement about the controversial RoS-Ginebra no-call:

“Comm. Chito Salud re a call made in the closing seconds of the 4q in the 2x to beat Quarters game between Ginebra and Rain or Shine at the MOA Arena:

Despite the absence of a formal protest, The Office of the Commissioner reviewed the steal made by Rain or Shine’s Jeff Chan on Ginebra San Miguel’s Michael Dunigan in the 8.7 mark of the 4th quarter with the 24 second shot clock winding down. A closer look at the play shows that Jeff Chan tapped the ball from Michael Dunigan with .2 second left on the shot clock.

When the ball was tapped away from the hands of Dunigan, this in itself did not constitute a loss of possession on the part of the offensive team and therefore did not stop the shot clock from counting down.

For the 24 second shot clock to cease from counting down, clear and immediate control of the ball must be had by the defensive team either by containing the ball with the use of one or two hands and/or dribbling the ball twice if the containment was with the use of one hand or dribbling once if the containment was with the use of two hands .

A closer look at the slow motion replay reveals that Jeff Chan did not have clear and immediate control of the ball after the tap at which time a 24 sec. violation should have been called by the referees.

Jeff Chan only had clear and immediate control of the ball with his second dribble after the 24 second shot clock had already expired. The referee on the ball missed that play and is thus suspended by this Office for the rest of the conference. While this incident demonstrates the difficulty in making judgement calls in real time and did not involve an error in technicality that is a ground for protest, disciplinary measures have been taken on the erring game official for a lapse in judgement which involved a call that was not reviewable and correctible under the rules during the game.”

Two words: Basketball gods.

Click to comment