Connect with us


Lady Chiefs blast Lady Red Spikers, take semis berth in style



Tiebreaker Times Lady Chiefs blast Lady Red Spikers, take semis berth in style AU NCAA News SBC Volleyball  Sarah Verutiao San Beda Women's Volleyball Regine Arocha Obet Javier Nieza Viray Nemesio Gavino NCAA Season 93 Women's Volleyball NCAA Season 93 Jovielyn Prado Faye Flores Cesca Racraquin Arellano Women's Volleyball

Reigning NCAA Women’s Volleyball Champions Arellano University Lady Chiefs clinched a semifinals spot in style, romping league darkhorse San Beda College Lady Red Spikers in three quick sets, 25-17, 25-10, 25-17, Friday afternoon at the Filoil Flying V Cenre in San Juan City.

This was the the Lady Chiefs’ 19th consecutive win, dating back from last season.

Jovielyn Prado finished with 17 points to lead the reigning champions off 13 attacks and four aces. Regine Arocha registered the other double-digit production at 11.

Arellano took advantage of the reception woes of San Beda throughout the match and targeted the latter’s main scorer Cesca Racraquin on the serve.

After just a little more than an hour, 32 attacks and nine serves hammered down the Mendiola opposition, who had also committed a horrid 31 errors in the short contest.

“Malaki,” said coach Javier of the importance of this win. “Sabi ko nga ‘tong game against San Beda magde-determine kung sino pwedeng mag-sweep ng eliminations.”

With the possibility of the scenario, the seven-year mentor added, “Siguro sa pagkapanalo namin sa San Beda ngayon, lalo pa kaming dapat mag-practice kasi dalawang games na lang eh. Makuha naman namin yung chance na kami naman ang mag-sweep.”

Racraquin and Nieza Viray were both limited to single digit at six markers each.

The still-perfect Lady Chiefs (7-0) will take on the struggling College of Saint Benilde (3-3) on Monday. The Lady Red Spikers (6-1) will face the undermanned yet upbeat Lady Stags (4-2) the following day.

The Scores:

AU 3 – Prado 17, Arocha 11, Esguerra 6, Ebuen 5, Marzan 3, Verutiao 2, Ramirez 0, Donato 0, Torres 0, Flores L, Buemia L.

SBC 0 – Racraquin C 6, Viray 6, Espiritu 5, Cuevas 3, Paras 3, Viray J 2, Tannagan 2, Amador 0, Manuel 0, Racraquin D L.

Click to comment