Connect with us
[adinserter block="13"] [adinserter block="3"]

Navy keeps KIA winless



The Philippine Navy Lady Sailors blazed through the KIA Forte to nail their second straight win in straight sets, 25-18, 25-23, 25-21, in the Shakey’s V-League Reinforced Conference at the FilOil Flying V Arena, Sunday afternoon.

Pau Soriano and Lilet Mabbayad led the Lady Sailors’ attacking charge in the first set as KIA struggled to establish any offense.

The Lady Sailors cruised into the second set, with Soriano and Mabbayad leading the assault for a 21-16 lead. KIA, through Wenneth Eulalio, Alyssa Layug and Shiela Pineda, tied the set at 23 but their own errors pushed the Lady Sailors to their second set win.

KIA played catch-up throughout the third set, with the Lady Sailors’ Florence Madulid and Norie Jane Diaz working with Soriano and Mabbayad to keep KIA at bay. But Forte gave Navy a little scare through Pineda, who scored through a block to cut Navy’s lead to 22-21. Madulid then scored the two of last three points for the Lady Sailors to finally quell KIA.

Philippine Navy Head Coach Zenaida Chavez said she did not expect to get the win in straight sets, since some players in the KIA lineup are veterans of the league.

“Hindi namin na-expect mastraight-sets namin sila (KIA) lalo  na ang iba sa kanila mga veterans na naglaro sa ibang club teams pero sinabi ko lang mag enjoy sila sa laro at magtulungan na lumabas naman,” said Philippine Zenaida Chavez.

Soriano topped the Lady Sailors with 14 points, 11 coming from attacks while Mabbayad chipped in nine points. Soriano’s former Adamson and Cagayan teammate, Pineda was the lone KIA player in double-figures with 11 points.

The Lady Sailors (2-1) will face the Philippine Army Lady Troopers (1-0) on October 31 at 5:00 PM while KIA’s (0-2) next assignment is the Philippine Coast Guard Lady Dolphins (0-3) at 3:00 PM at the same day and venue.

The Scores:

PHI Navy (3) – Soriano 14, Mabbayad 9, Diaz 8, Genido 7, Madulid 5, Acuna 5, Serafica 5, Veronas 0, Dela Cruz 0, Fortuno (L), Ticar(L)

KIA (0) – Pineda 11, Eulalio 7, Layug 5, Micek 5, Aganon 3, Saet 3, Magsumbol 2, Tabaquero 2, Castaneda 2, Legacion 1, Guevarra 0, Reyes (L)