Connect with us


Martina Roxas, Andrea Montilla score as Ateneo, UP, end season with scored draw



Tiebreaker Times Martina Roxas, Andrea Montilla score as Ateneo, UP, end season with scored draw ADMU Football News UAAP UP  UP Women's Football UAAP Season 81 Women's Football UAAP Season 81 Sofia Dungca Pam Diaz Nicole Adlawan Mary Rose Obra Martina Roxas Marianne Caparros Jay Pee Merida Ateneo Women's Football Anto Gonzales Andrea Montilla

The Ateneo de Manila University Lady Eagles and the University of the Philippines Lady Maroons capped off their UAAP Season 81 Women’s Football Tournament with a 1-1 draw, Wednesday afternoon at the Circulo Verde field in Quezon City.

As the FEU Lady Tamaraws earned a draw against the DLSU Lady Archers earlier today, the Lady Maroons were denied a ticket or at least a play-off for one to this year’s finals.

“I think we improved, that’s the main positive thing from last season,” said UP coach Anto Gonzales. “We didn’t have any single point last season. So this year, we have nine points. But I know the team also feels that we could have done better.”

Ateneo drew first blood when Martina Roxas shot past UP goalie Nicole Adlawan four minutes after the restart. Pam Diaz then had a good sniff at goal afterwards, but she skied her attempt and the chance went begging.

State U then managed to find a leveler in the 71st minute. Sofia Dungca delivered a good pass to Andrea Montilla, who then scored from a tight angle to lift her team back to the game. Mary Rose Obra then had a late opportunity to win the game, but Lady Eagles goalie Marianne Caparros was on hand to deny her.

“We had a lot of chances pero hindi lang talaga na-convert. Yung UP talaga, they showed great character. Nung last 20 minutes, they dominated (the game). They had a lot of chances,” lamented Ateneo coach Jay Pee Merida.

With the result, State U (9 points) and Ateneo (6 points) finish in 4th and 5th place respectively. The former were denied a podium finish due to an inferior goal difference to UST.

READ  Bryan Bagunas, NU Bulldogs clobber UP for 5th win

ADMU XI: Adao, Almeda J., Bautista, Bugayong, Cabrera, Calimbo, Caparros (C, GK), Catedrilla, Diaz, Naguiat, Soriano.

UP XI: Fagsao, Alleje (C), Adlawan (GK), Dabalos, Ube, Dungca, Obra, Yalong, Ruiz, Jalandoni, Corvera.