Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Kyt Jimenez hailed MPBL’s top rookie, Jaycee Marcelino leads Mythical Five

Standouts of the OKBet-MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League) 4th Season Presented by Xtreme was honored Monday night before Game 2 of the National Finals between the Nueva Ecija Rice Vanguards and Zamboanga Family’s Brand Sardines at the Nueva Ecija Coliseum in Palayan City.

Named to the Mythical Team were Jaycee Marcelino of Zamboanga Family’s Brand Sardines, Hesed Gabo and Will McAloney of the Nueva Ecija Rice Vanguards, Judel Fuentes of the San Juan Knights and Cedric Ablaza of Batangas City Embassy Chill.

Each of these players received P10,000, courtesy of Ryan David Roxas of David Roxas Construction.

The MPBL 4th Season MVP, who will come from the Mythical Team, will be named in Game 3 of the National Finals to be held at the Mayor Vitaliano Agan Coliseum in Zamboanga City on December 9.

Other major awardees this season are Kyt Jimenez of the Sarangani Marlins as Rookie of the Year, Mark Yee of Bacolod Bingo Plus as Defensive Player of the Year, Archie Concepcion of the Pampanga Giant Lanterns as Homegrown Player of the Year and Jay-R Taganas of Nueva Ecija as the Sportsmanship awardee.

Jimenez will get P15,000 plus an overnight stay at Buracai de Laiya courtesy of Robert Cay, who designated his son Lester to present the award.

Yee will get a one-year supply of DFence Vitamin C from Cnf Pharmaceutical Products through Bernard Fernandez and P5,000 from the MPBL. Taganas got P15,000 from Pound For Pound Fitness.

Nueva Ecija team owner Bong Cuevas was named the Lucio Tan Jr. MPBL Executive of the Year.

#ReadMore  Franky Johnson drains P100K shot, lifts UR-Butuan to top of Chooks 3x3 Leg 3

MPBL Commissioner Kenneth Duremdes presented the Mythical Team members and Cuevas with their individual trophies.

Head of Operations Emmer Oreta presented the award to Concepcion, League Executive Joe Ramos presented the award to Jimenez and Chief of Security Rudy Distrito presented the award to Taganas.

The Rice Vanguards, the North division champion, subdued the South division champion Zamboanguenos, 81-75, in Game 1 of the best-of-five Finals on December 2 also held at the Nueva Ecija Coliseum.

Written By

You May Also Like


Scottie Thompson joins a growing list of players doubtful to participate in the much-anticipated PBA All-Star Bacolod 2024 next weekend. The Barangay Ginebra star...


Christian Standhardinger was selected first overall once more in the PBA All-Star Game Draft on Monday night at the TV5 Media Center in Pasig....


Mark Barroca and Japeth Aguilar will be headlining the 2024 PBA All-Star. The decorated veterans topped the fan voting and will therefore serve as...


Blackwater has decided to not renew the contract of Rashawn McCarthy. The contract of McCarthy, a seven-year vet who was traded to Blackwater two...


Pampanga withstood the best Bacoor could offer and emerged victorious, securing the 2023 MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League) Fifth Season national crown at the...


It felt like home sweet home for Nueva Ecija, which secured a victory in front of its local fans in the Pilipinas Super League...


An apparent facial injury marred the PBA debut of Kyt Jimenez as San Miguel took on Meralco in the PBA Commissioner’s Cup on Sunday....


Bacoor City weathered Batangas City Embassy Chill’s third-quarter surge to prevail, 54-49, on Friday and capture the MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League) South Division...