Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Jarvey Gayoso, Rupert Bana combine to earn Ateneo vengeance over slumping La Salle

Revenge was oh, so sweet for the Ateneo de Manila University Blue Eagles.

With goals from strikers Jarvey Gayoso and Rupert Bana, the Blue Eagles avenged their first-round loss to the De La Salle University Green Archers with a 3-1 victory in the UAAP Season 81 Men’s Football Tournament, Thursday afternoon, at FEU-Diliman.

Jay Pee Merida’s men extended their winning streak to three games in the second round. The opposite was true for Alvin Ocampo’s wards, though, as they are still to win a match in the said period after as many fixtures.

“The players talaga showed good character after we conceded a goal in the first 10 minutes. Nandun yung motivation nila, hindi talaga nawala. I’m very happy sa attitude na pinakita nila in this game,” said the two-time champion head coach.

The Green Archers started the game in the best way possible when midfielder Mauro Acot unleashed a long-range strike to score past Blue Eagles goalkeeper Jae Arcilla. However, that was as good as it got for La Salle, as the Taft-based school succumbed to the Blue Eagles’ bombardment.

Ateneo forwards Gayoso and Bana struck cool finishes in the 16th and 42nd minutes to turn the contest upside-down in favor of Merida’s men. Those were their eighth and seventh goal respectively for the season. Come the second half, the Blue Eagles and the Green Archers stood toe-to-toe with each other until the 71st minute.

Substitute forward Alfonso Montelibano, La Salle’s hero in both teams’ previous encounter, was ejected after he incurred his second yellow card for a foul on Ateneo defender Jeremiah Rocha. Beforehand, Montelibano received a caution after he and midfielder Nino Herrera clashed for the ball.

#ReadMore  Thirdy Ravena has successful surgery on fractured index finger

Despite being down to 10 men, La Salle fought to level the game. Unfortunately, Arcilla’s stops against rookies Mikio Umilin and Shanden Vergara kept the Green Archers at bay. Six minutes from time, Gayoso notched his brace with another fine finish past stopper Gab Villacin.

Both schools’ next games shall be on April 7, 2019, at FEU-Diliman. La Salle (13 points) play the Adamson University at 9:00 AM, while Ateneo (19 points) compete against the National University at 3:30 PM.

ADMU XI: Arcilla (GK), Gayoso, Bana, Herrera, Rocha, Roxas ©, Maniquis, Mercado, Nacional, Poe, Liao.

DLSU XI: Villacin (GK), Alcantara, Alegre, Acot, Diamante ©, Marfiga, Koizumi, Umilin, Abao, Vergara, Penalosa.

Written By

Lorenzo's a frustrated author who knows a thing or two about Football and Basketball. Went all green from Ortigas to Taft. Supports Liverpool FC, FC Bayern Munich and the Alaska Aces

You May Also Like


With a big season up ahead domestically and in the continent, Kaya-Iloilo continued its busy recruitment binge this off-season by signing anew one of...


When the Philippine Azkals step on the pitch against Singapore on December 8 against host nation Singapore at its National Stadium, to kick off...


Three of the top homegrown talents in Philippine football successfully made their mark in the 2021 Copa Paulino Alcantara. Despite a shortened competition, Kaya-Iloilo...


Yrick Gallantes was the hero for the Azkals Development Team as his late goal propelled his side towards the 2021 Copa Paulino Alcantara final...


In a finishing masterclass from Jarvey Gayoso, the Azkals Development Team earned a ticket to the 2021 Copa Paulino Alcantara semi-finals thanks to a...


The lingering presence of the COVID-19 pandemic continues to bring so much pain and suffering to the Filipino people. In the context of the...


The Philippine Football Federation announced the 22 players who shall represent the country in the upcoming 2022 AFC U-23 Asian Cup Group H qualification...


University of the Philippines products Daniel Gadia, Ace Villanueva, and Kintaro Miyagi are set to reunite and bring their collegiate success to Dynamic Herb...